New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Laser Start?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Laser Start?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
GybinJoe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 May 11
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Post Options Post Options   Quote GybinJoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Laser Start?
    Posted: 14 May 11 at 2:05pm
Heres the situation,
At a standard start line theres one boat (A) head to wind, sitting there waiting for the start whistle so she can bear away to starboard and start sailing.
 
As the whistle blows, Boat A bears away and starts to accelerate.
  At the same time that Boat A Bears away, Boat (B) is on port tack at speed and a collision occurrs. Ouch
Boat A protests B for not keeping clear when overtaking and Boat B protests A for tacking onto his course.
Who would be penalised? This happened to me and I was Boat B, I got penalised even though I was sure i was in the right. Confused
 
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 11 at 5:38pm
It sounds to me like you were in the wrong to be honest without lots more information.
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
GybinJoe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 May 11
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Post Options Post Options   Quote GybinJoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 11 at 10:10pm
I would have though Boat A was at fault beacuse he had a choice on which tack to take and chose a collision course.
Laser Standard (Helm)
J-80 (Crew&Helm)
Laser 2 (Helm)
Beneteau(Crewing for multiple boats)
Back to Top
SoggyBadger View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Oct 10
Location: The Wild Wood
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 552
Post Options Post Options   Quote SoggyBadger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 11 at 10:33pm
I have real problems with you description of the incident (maybe the protest committee did too  Wink). If A is on starboard and B is on port then overtaking is irrelevant. Your only possible chance of winning a protest would have been to argue that A didn't give you room/opportunity to keep clear before he/she altered course. 

Edited by SoggyBadger - 14 May 11 at 10:34pm
Best wishes from deep in the woods

SB

Back to Top
GybinJoe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 May 11
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Post Options Post Options   Quote GybinJoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 11 at 10:36pm
Oop's LOL  Boat B was on a starboard tack too
Laser Standard (Helm)
J-80 (Crew&Helm)
Laser 2 (Helm)
Beneteau(Crewing for multiple boats)
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 11 at 10:40pm
Right, if you were both on starboard then the other boat was windward boat and required to keep clear by the sound of it. Overtaking has nothing to do with it, you're either overlapped or you're not.


Edited by Lukepiewalker - 14 May 11 at 10:43pm
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 11 at 5:52am
Originally posted by Lukepiewalker

It sounds to me like you were in the wrong to be honest without lots more information.
 
I agree, we need lots more information.
If as you added, you were 'also' on starboard, then I'd be inclined to put all my money on boat A being in the wrong.
Had you been on port there would still be a very good chance on boat A being in the wrong...
Note; boat A could only be considered to be 'starboard' tack if had reached 'head to wind' by luffing up from a starboard tack course. If boat A was head to wind from port, then would not have any rights until established a 'close hauled' starboard course and then only on port tack boats.
We do need to establish boat A's rights, and whether in changing course it initially gave room for 'keep clear' boats to do just that.
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 11 at 5:58am
Oh, and if boat A was moving backwards at the time by backing its sail then again, it will have forfeited all rights.
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 11 at 7:27am
Indeed. The other things requiring consideration are whether you could have avoided the collision, and whether you gave the other boat the opportunity to keep clear.
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 11 at 8:26am
I am assuming a lot here....
 
A is the windward boat and was sitting head to wind on the start line (why they would sit 'head to wind' I do not know, perhaps they were lying to)
 
B was Leeward and established an overlap at which point A must keep clear
 
B was sailing a close hauled course and did not alter course
 
However if A was stationery then B has to give A enough time to react, this does include bearing away to get the boat moving so they can keep clear (I am pretty sure there is an ISAF case that covers this).
 
What you have not also given are the realtive points of sail leading up to and during the incident..
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy