Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
unusual boat contact |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | |||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 15 Oct 14 at 11:36am |
||
You old cynic, Mags!
|
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
|||
MerlinMags ![]() Admin Group ![]() ![]() Joined: 19 Mar 04 Location: UK, Guildford Online Status: Offline Posts: 588 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
How many of these swept-back-purely-for-the-weed-guvnor rudder blades are being given a hefty wiggle now and again to provide propulsion?
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
normal: ordinary, usual, conforming to type. IMHO, if you have a rudderblade that is capable of adjustment, so as to move the CLR, or reduce wetted surface area, or for whatever reason, the position that gives the best advantage is normal: it's normal to adjust your boat to best advantage. EXCEPT when the position you adjust to breaks class or other rules, then it's not normal.
No class rule prohibited the other boat from adjusting her rudderblade (Lightening) The rudder blade was in a normal position. You (B) became overlapped, either to windward or to leeward, when your bow or prodder crossed the line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat's (A) rudderblade (Definition: Clear Astern and Clear Ahead: Overlap). If B were to leeward of A's rudderblade, B was overlapped to leeward, was right of way boat (rule 11), and was obliged to give A room to keep clear initially (rule 15). If B were to windward of A's rudderblade, B was overlapped to windward and required to keep clear (rule 11). Because B changed from keep clear (astern, under rule 12) to keep clear (windward under rule 11), A did not acquire right of way, and A had no obligation under rule 15 If B touched A's rudderblade, then B would have failed to keep clear and broken rule 11. On valid protest B would be penalised. There was contact, so rule 14 applies.
B was neither a right of way boat nor entitled to room so cannot be exonerated under rule 14( b ). Even if it had been reasonably possible for A to avoid contact, if there was no damage or injury, A, a right of way boat, would also be exonerated for breaking rule 14. Class rules prohibit other boat from adjusting rudderblade (Laser) The rudder blade was NOT in normal position. You (B) did not become overlapped when your bow or prodder crossed the line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat's (A) rudderblade (Definition: Clear Astern and Clear Ahead: Overlap). B remained Clear Astern and required to keep clear (rule 12). If B touched A's rudderblade, then B would have failed to keep clear and broken rule 12. But, A was breaking her Class Rules and accordingly, for what it's worth, breaking rule 3( a ). There was contact, so rule 14 applies.
B was neither a right of way boat nor entitled to room so B cannot be exonerated under rule 14( b ). Even if it had been reasonably possible for A to avoid contact, if there was no damage or injury, A, a right of way boat would also be exonerated for breaking rule 14. The question now arises whether, as a consequence of A breaking her Class Rule, A compelled B to break rule 12 or rule 14 and is exonerated under rule 64.1( a )? The Background to OP scenario indicates that it was commonly known that boats sailed with their rudderblades up. On the other hand, B could well argue that she relied on A to comply with her class rules (although a protest committee might doubt this, given that it is not usually expected that a boat will have a detailed knowledge of the class rules of a class other than her own). There might also be issues about:
I think there are some nice judgments here that could only be made by a protest committee seeking and hearing evidence on the spot. A protest committee might decide that B is exonerated for not keeping clear, but not exonerated for not avoiding contact. I tend to think that the better solution is for B not to be exonerated, and both boats penalised.
See above: I think contact was relevant.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Yes that was utterly bizarre though. Proved by performance that he kept clear!
|
|||
![]() |
|||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
The Laser would be binned on class rule violation. The fact that there was contact would be irrelevent.
As the rudder is out of position (and was likely to have been such time you are obliged to keep clear. I would argue that if you are that close to a Laser transom that you are in danger of clipping the rudder then you are not keeping clear anyway as even swept back a little it is very close to the boat.... We all remember the BA protest where he got binned for not keeping clear even though there was overhead video evidence that proved the french guy did not deviate and there was no contact.....
|
|||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|||
![]() |
|||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
I have commented on raised Laser rudders in the past, when I've been sailing a class where it isn't allowed, too. Now I'm either sailing a Lightning, where you can, or a Firefly, where I can fit the old fashioned swept back blade, it would seem a little churlish to complain - I'll leave it to those with fixed blades!
So, if you hit a raised Laser rudder, you can counter protest and get them thrown out, but if you hit a raised Lightning rudder, you are in the wrong? Does the word "normal" refer to the rudder having been like that for a while, or would "normal" be the class rules? For me, it would have to be the former, surely, so you'd still be out, even if you also sucessfully protested the Laser. |
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
|||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Yes it is true RRS87. The replica sail issue can be got around though (as can the rudder rule using the same method). It does need to ne published in a suitable manner though.
Edited by jeffers - 14 Oct 14 at 2:30pm |
|||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|||
![]() |
|||
Neptune ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Jun 09 Location: Berkshire United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1314 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
is that true? How many laser sailors around the country/ world are racing in laser fleets with a replica sail
|
|||
Musto Skiff and Solo sailor
|
|||
![]() |
|||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Plus there is always the question of class rules so you could counter protest as some classes mandate that the rudder must be fully down at all times (and we all know you cannot vary a class rule using an SI unless you have the written agreement of the class).
|
|||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|||
![]() |
|||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
My view, yes you'd be in the wrong. But very unlucky.
|
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |