New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: After Finishing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

After Finishing

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
RC311 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Sep 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote RC311 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: After Finishing
    Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 3:13pm
What is the correct penalty for a boat that has already finished a race and
whilst sailing back to shore accidently impedes a boat that is still racing,
affecting that boats finishing position, but no damage occurs to either
boat? The finished boat accepts that he was in the wrong, and caused the
incident through lack of attention.
311
Back to Top
CurlyBen View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 Aug 05
Location: Southampton
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 539
Post Options Post Options   Quote CurlyBen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 3:33pm
I'm not an expert but I would guess that as the boat that has finished it is no longer subject to the racing rules of sailing, so there is no infringement of the rules on their part. However, I would imagine the boat that was impeded would be able to ask for redress to get it's place reinstated.
Back to Top
RC311 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Sep 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote RC311 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 4:07pm
Thanks Curly Ben, but since no damage occured I can't see any grounds
for redress. It's a bit late for the boat to do penalty turns and I can't see
anything in the rules that says that offender would have to retire. I would
like to reiterate that the collision was accidental and not deliberate.
There seems to be no solution to this in the ISAF Case Book, so perhaps
some of you rules experts out there could shed some light on this.
311
Back to Top
CurlyBen View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 Aug 05
Location: Southampton
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 539
Post Options Post Options   Quote CurlyBen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 4:12pm
Redress is not purely for damage; I do a lot of team racing, and there have been a few occasions when a boat has broken the rules (normally through misunderstanding them) where their gain has been much greater than their loss due to taking turns - for example their team may have gained 3 or 4 places for a loss of 2. At school level there is never redress (in my experience anyway!) but I'm pretty sure that would be grounds for it. Similarly in this case it was a mistake by another boat that caused the boat in question to lose places, so I think there would be grounds for it in this case, although it's going to be too late by now for it!
Back to Top
reddeck74 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Oct 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote reddeck74 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 6:11pm
My guess is that the incident to which RC311 refers is covered by Rule 22.1
(Part 2) - "If reasonably possible a boat not racing shall not interfere with a
boat that is racing". - If it does that is unfair I would say.
Now Rule 2 (Part 1) covers fair sailing.
However in this case the offending boat is not racing - having just finished.
Note though that Part 2 does refer to a boat not racing, which seems to
suggest Part 2 can apply to a boat no longer racing(?).
Presumably therefore a disqualification as referred to in Rule 2 can be
applied to a boat no longer racing. Any such disqualificatio would apply to
the race just completed.
If the offending boat were just cruising it cannot obviously be disqaulified
How's that sound?
David
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 6:40pm

You are still under the racing rules after you have finished racing and in particular 22.1 applies. The preamble to part 2 implies that a penalty to a non-racing boat under 22.1 is possible. However I've never heard of a protest under 22.1 and the ISAF case book does not have any relevant cases either. I think the helm of the offending boat should buy the other helm a beer and that is all.

"Fair sailing" is highly unlikely to come into this. An example of where it might is turning back after you have finished and deliberately sailing someone close to you in the series back down the fleet. Successful "fail sailing" protests are extremely rare.

Back to Top
CurlyBen View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 Aug 05
Location: Southampton
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 539
Post Options Post Options   Quote CurlyBen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 7:04pm
When are you no longer under racing rules then? I don't have the rule book to hand but in most regattas I've sailed they only apply from one minute before the start, and I can see no way a person not under racing rules can be penalised for breaking them - that's like breaking the laws of another country! I would imagine that any penalty would have to be written into the Sailing Instructions, as these apply at all times, not just whilst racing (I think).
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 7:22pm

The rules start applying well before one minute before the start and still apply after you have finished. Read the preamble to part 2. The part 2 rules ("when boats meet") apply when you are in or near the race area and intend to race, are racing or have been racing. So although "racing" normally means from the preparatory signal until you finish, the rules apply once you are in the race area and "intend to race" and still apply until you leave the race area.

So for example, you can be penalised for fouling a boat in another class which is racing when you are not. This situation happens in big keelboat regattas quite often; you are hanging around between races but other classes are racing on the same bit of water. Racing rules apply to you even though you are not presently racing.

Back to Top
CurlyBen View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 Aug 05
Location: Southampton
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 539
Post Options Post Options   Quote CurlyBen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 7:34pm
Thanks, that changes things a bit! As I say at most of the regattas I've sailed in (and they've all been school sailing, where things are a bit different) part of the sailing instructions has been that the racing rules apply from one minute before the start. This is a bit more applicable in team racing where it's useful to chase people before the start to give your team better positioning, and things like proper course don't apply. I'd go and find my rule book but it's packed for moving house tomorrow! I suppose in this case it may be possible to give the infringing boat a points penalty? That I guess would have to be from a SI rather than the rules as they don't mention it.


Edited by CurlyBen
Back to Top
Ralph T View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 36
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ralph T Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 8:45pm

Originally posted by CurlyBen

at most of the regattas I've sailed in (and they've all been school sailing, where things are a bit different) part of the sailing instructions has been that the racing rules apply from one minute before the start.

Rule 86.1 covers what racing rules can be changed & not even the RYA can change Part 2!

I run lots of schools & junior events (including fleet & team racing) & have never found it necessary to change when the racing rules come into effect.

You may wish to bring Rule 86.1 to the attention of the organisers of your events but do it diplomatically as adults don't take too kindly to being told they are wrong by younger people (even if they do know more than the adult )

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy