Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Windward boat |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 23456> |
Author | ||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 22 Jun 07 at 7:25am |
|
> In both occaisions I felt this was an attempt to gain
> and keep an overlap for an upcoming mark, I'm not going to claim any great expertise for this, but my understanding is that things like proper course only count for anything when two boats are in a rule interaction situation. You can sail in as silly a way as you like if no-one else is near... I don't think there's anything especially controversial or even unusual in adjusting your position for best advantage when two boats do come together... Don't we all do that in mark roundings in one way or another? And in this case is there really much practical difference between putting in two gybes and coming from underneath as you do or soaking down and coming from underneath? Edited by JimC |
||
![]() |
||
andymck ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 15 Dec 06 Location: Stamford Online Status: Offline Posts: 397 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
The proper corse part of the rule I find quite confusing, I have on at least 2 occaisions had an assymetric boat purposely bear away and sail below me to gain an overlap to leeward, once they have sailed into my wind shadow, they have luffed above the course to the next mark, claiming that as an assymetric boat, they are entitled to do so, as this is their "proper course". There had been no significant change in wind or sea conditions and were not dinghies, who I agree tend to heat up and soak in most conditions. In both occaisions I felt this was an attempt to gain and keep an overlap for an upcoming mark, (bowsprit overlapped, but not boat) which otherwise due to the wind shadow they were having difficulty keeping. Forcing me above the 2 boat length circle, so they would have rights after the gybe. Given that it was their choice to go below, and therefore sail below the course to the next mark, can they then claim that their proper course is then well above the next mark, given that if that was the case, they should have gone above me in the first place? When I have been sailing assymetrics I have always gybed away, and then come back from below 2 boat lenghts and therefore assumed luffing rights in the same situation, am I just being too polite? Andy |
||
Andy Mck
|
||
![]() |
||
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Interesting read, thanks. So rule 18 doesn't apply. I will remember that next time.
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Try Case 26 in the ISAF Casebook... http://www.sailing.org/rrs2005/casebook2006supplement.pdf |
||
![]() |
||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Ouch, my head would hurt... Please spare me the pain....
|
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
RRS applies between boats racing, whether or not they are in the same race. If you want a fun mental exercise, figure out how rule 18 applies as between boats rounding a mark in opposite directions (which has happened to me at least 3 times now in the Solent). |
||
![]() |
||
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Not so, I'm afraid. |
||
![]() |
||
Ian29937 ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 25 May 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 409 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
My understanding was always If boats are racing, whether or not they are in the same race, shared the same start or sailing the same course, the RRS apply. A racing yacht has right of way over a cruising yacht under the collision regs. (in days gone by, a square burgee indicated a racing yacht, a triangular showed cruising) Non-racing yachts are governed by the collision regs. No doubt someone will tell me if I'm wrong. Ian Edited by Ian29937 |
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
OK OK, I've changed it to "entering races" held under ISAF rules |
||
![]() |
||
Calum_Reid ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 59 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Ok so some key points of the rules are being missed here but i have to go to work so il save it for later
|
||
![]() |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 23456> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |