Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
After Finishing |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | |
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 16 Nov 05 at 10:00pm |
There is actually an example of this type of case given in my new rules book (in norwegian and english luckily)
To summarise, boats not racing are bound by the usual maritime safety regulations of the country or region. A similar event happened, when the 'rules of the road' were not adhered to either. Howevr the committee found that they did not govern over , no police national laws and the protest was flung out - seems daft. No collisiion, just 'accidental' impedement. If no one else can be bothered, I'll look it up if you ask- in the USA i think |
|
![]() |
|
CurlyBen ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 17 Aug 05 Location: Southampton Online Status: Offline Posts: 539 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
All bar one of the oranised racing I've done has been tem racing with
three or occasionally two minute starts - the normal pre race signals
and flags are not one of my strongpoints! I know that you have no
rights over a boat that is racing, but when two boats that are not
racing meet whether they are under racing rules does make a
differnence. When team racing we quite often chased oter boats down
before the start (or at least tried to!) and how the rules apply can
make a big difference there. The one minute bit was from the verbal SIs
often given at the regattas I attended, and they did say the racing
rules as opposed to the part 2 rules. I didn't think to check
whereabouts that line came from, looking at it again it is obvious it
only applies to part 2. I don't mean to sound difficult, but it helps
to know I'm mis-interpreting rules!
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yes but two points. The first is that you were originally arguing that the rules didn't start till 1 minute. The preparatory is normally 4 minutes. Second point is that 22.1 is extremely wide-ranging. You basically have no rights versus a boat that is racing. In some kinds of racing, it is extremely common to have boats around you racing while you are waiting for your start sequence. |
|
![]() |
|
CurlyBen ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 17 Aug 05 Location: Southampton Online Status: Offline Posts: 539 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I was looking at the rules on the ISAF website - 01-04 rules but I doubt this has changed - and while you are right with what you quote, the preamble continues to say "A boat is racing from her preparatory signal until she finishes and clears the finishing line and marks or retires, or until the race committee signals a general recall, postponement or abandonment. a boat not racing shall not be penalized for breaking one of these rules, except rule 22.1" Doesn't make any difference to this particular case, but if you can't be penalised under them then effectively the racing rules don't apply until the preparotory signal (other than 22.1 obviously) |
|
![]() |
|
NeilP ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 23 Nov 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 271 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Spot on Gordon. If you have finished and impede or collide with a boat still racing, and they protest you, the the protest would have to be upheld. The penalty would depend on whether time penalties are available to the PC. Neil |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Just goes to show that not many people involved in our sport - including those who write SIs - actually read and understand the Rules. In the (good) old days when yachts (including dinghies) has flag halyards they would replace their cruising pennant before racing with a rectangular racing pennant. Racing Rules would apply between boats flying their racing pennnants. As I see it a boat having finished should keep clear of a yacht still racing. Should she infringe this rule she can be protested...and be penalised by the Protest Committee (even if the other boat was sailing in a separate event. Shoulkd it be unclear that one boat has not finished Part 2 rules apply. If it is clear that one boat is not, and has not been racing Coll Regs apply - and a boat can be penalised for infringing Coll Regs. This applies even on a duckpond
Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
RC311 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 5 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Thanks Stefan, your interpretations seems correct. I guess if there was a
collision, then the boat still racing would HAVE to protest anyway. |
|
311
|
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Certainly there would have been grounds for redress, had a protest been filed in time, which I assume it wasn't. RRS 62.1b covers exactly this situation. The only available penalty on the offending boats appears to be DSQ, unless the SIs make a time penalty available. See 64.1a. However it seems rather harsh and in practice I've never heard of this happening to a boat that is not racing. |
|
![]() |
|
RC311 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 5 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Seems like we still don't have a definitive answer to the initial question.
Stefan and Reddeck are quite correct that the offending boat could be protested under rule 22.1 - but what's the penalty? Idon't think it could be called 'unfair sailing' because the incident was unintentional, so he could not be dsq under rule 2. And what of the poor boat who was fouled and lost places - I can't see any grounds for redress! As stefan points out, this situation occurs in keelboat racing, and is also a not uncommon situation in radio controlled racing when skippers mentally switch off after the finish and sail back through the finishing fleet. |
|
311
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |