New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: water at the mark
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

water at the mark

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
feva sailor View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king
Avatar

Joined: 03 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 186
Post Options Post Options   Quote feva sailor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: water at the mark
    Posted: 03 Sep 08 at 10:03pm

what marks and at other obsticles and so on can i call for water.

i just read in the DSM that on the start line with 4 mins to go you can call for water by the commity boat but not on the one min.

 

are there any other rules like this.

when and where can icall for whater and when and where do i give way.

i conw the 2 basic ones:

port/starboard

windward boat keeps clear

and the overtaking one keeps clear unless it come leeward of you

Back to Top
HannahJ View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jul 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 861
Post Options Post Options   Quote HannahJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 08 at 10:39pm
Actually, seconded, can I call water on the committee boat on grounds of seamanship like behaviour, ie. not crashing? We call water on the shore/obstacles already.
MIRROR 64799 "Dolphin"
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist hopes it will change; the realist adjusts the sail
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 08 at 7:41am
For obstructions (and this includes the committee boat), you can call for room to prevent crashing, but whilst you may be given it, don't be suprised if the boat that gives you room protests you for getting into that postion if you didn't have right of way- there is (almost) no way that you can "barge" in from windward on the start line like that, and the one situation where you can is quite rare (and doesn't involve a committee "boat" as such).
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 08 at 8:04am
Originally posted by HannahJ

Actually, seconded, can I call water on the committee boat on grounds of seamanship like behaviour, ie. not crashing?

Yes, but if you were there with no rights you then have to do your 720...
Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 08 at 8:09am

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by HannahJ

Actually, seconded, can I call water on the committee boat on grounds of seamanship like behaviour, ie. not crashing?

Yes, but if you were there with no rights you then have to do your 720...

 

And those that you do this too will see you as (at minimum) a fool, and do it more than once and you'll be seen as something far worse.

You also run the real risk of being forced into the ctb as there may well not BE room for people to give you room, then we get insurance claims and very bad feeling. 

I would always assume you will NOT get room as there will be NONE and so bail out early.

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 08 at 1:17pm
If you read your SIs there may be something about the committee boat in there. At the Scorp nationals it was stated that the committee boat is always an obstruction that you are not entiteld to room at before the start.

If memory serves there is something in the RRS but I do not have a set to hand.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
feva sailor View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king
Avatar

Joined: 03 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 186
Post Options Post Options   Quote feva sailor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 08 at 5:18pm
somone actually warned me id be more confused after asking something than before
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 08 at 7:00pm

The committee boat and start mark are always obstructions HOWEVER rule 18 does not apply from the time boats are approaching them to start until they have passed them.

So, 3 minutes before the start you may cal for water at the committee boat. This is why match racing umpires agree between themselves when boats are approaching to start.

All other rules apply, especially rule 16.1 which means that as right of way boat you have to give the other boat room to keep clear. In practice this means you should close the door at the committee boat early enough so that the keep clear boat has room to bail out. If you luff her in to the committee boat she may well be DSQ, but so will you!

Gordon

 

 

Gordon
Back to Top
feva sailor View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king
Avatar

Joined: 03 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 186
Post Options Post Options   Quote feva sailor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 08 at 7:35pm
okay what about at leward and windward marks.
is it always windward boat keeps clear if they are both on the same tack?
Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 08 at 8:00pm

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by HannahJ

Actually, seconded, can I call water on the committee boat on grounds of seamanship like behaviour, ie. not crashing?

Yes, but if you were there with no rights you then have to do your 720...

Doing a 720 may not be sufficient, if you gained a significant advantage (ie a good start) you would have no option other than retire.

More generally, at marks and obstructions the inside boat is normally entitled to room as long as they have an overlap at 2 boat lengths (these being the length of the first boat to get to said lengths from the mark). however being entitled to room does not give you right of way if you are give way boat...  These situations are regular topics in the main dinghy magazines so a trawl through past issues (or the subscriber feature on this site) should bring up some good examples. 

Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy