Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
water at the mark |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | ||
feva sailor ![]() Posting king ![]() ![]() Joined: 03 Sep 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 186 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 03 Sep 08 at 10:03pm |
|
what marks and at other obsticles and so on can i call for water.
are there any other rules like this. when and where can icall for whater and when and where do i give way. port/starboard windward boat keeps clear and the overtaking one keeps clear unless it come leeward of you |
||
![]() |
||
HannahJ ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 23 Jul 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 861 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Actually, seconded, can I call water on the committee boat on grounds of seamanship like behaviour, ie. not crashing? We call water on the shore/obstacles already.
|
||
MIRROR 64799 "Dolphin"
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist hopes it will change; the realist adjusts the sail |
||
![]() |
||
alstorer ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 02 Aug 07 Location: Cambridge Online Status: Offline Posts: 2899 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
For obstructions (and this includes the committee boat), you can call for room to prevent crashing, but whilst you may be given it, don't be suprised if the boat that gives you room protests you for getting into that postion if you didn't have right of way- there is (almost) no way that you can "barge" in from windward on the start line like that, and the one situation where you can is quite rare (and doesn't involve a committee "boat" as such).
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Yes, but if you were there with no rights you then have to do your 720... |
||
![]() |
||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
And those that you do this too will see you as (at minimum) a fool, and do it more than once and you'll be seen as something far worse. You also run the real risk of being forced into the ctb as there may well not BE room for people to give you room, then we get insurance claims and very bad feeling. I would always assume you will NOT get room as there will be NONE and so bail out early. |
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
If you read your SIs there may be something about the committee boat in there. At the Scorp nationals it was stated that the committee boat is always an obstruction that you are not entiteld to room at before the start.
If memory serves there is something in the RRS but I do not have a set to hand. |
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
||
feva sailor ![]() Posting king ![]() ![]() Joined: 03 Sep 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 186 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
somone actually warned me id be more confused after asking something than before
![]() |
||
![]() |
||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
The committee boat and start mark are always obstructions HOWEVER rule 18 does not apply from the time boats are approaching them to start until they have passed them. So, 3 minutes before the start you may cal for water at the committee boat. This is why match racing umpires agree between themselves when boats are approaching to start. All other rules apply, especially rule 16.1 which means that as right of way boat you have to give the other boat room to keep clear. In practice this means you should close the door at the committee boat early enough so that the keep clear boat has room to bail out. If you luff her in to the committee boat she may well be DSQ, but so will you! Gordon
|
||
Gordon
|
||
![]() |
||
feva sailor ![]() Posting king ![]() ![]() Joined: 03 Sep 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 186 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
okay what about at leward and windward marks.
is it always windward boat keeps clear if they are both on the same tack? |
||
![]() |
||
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Doing a 720 may not be sufficient, if you gained a significant advantage (ie a good start) you would have no option other than retire. More generally, at marks and obstructions the inside boat is normally entitled to room as long as they have an overlap at 2 boat lengths (these being the length of the first boat to get to said lengths from the mark). however being entitled to room does not give you right of way if you are give way boat... These situations are regular topics in the main dinghy magazines so a trawl through past issues (or the subscriber feature on this site) should bring up some good examples. |
||
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |