Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
49er medal race |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 34567 19> |
Author | |
RyanV49er ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 28 Oct 07 Online Status: Offline Posts: 217 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 22 Aug 08 at 8:24am |
Actually ESP did protest Denmark, alongside the RC protest. The fact of the matter is, Denmark didn't gain anything from using a different boat. It wasn't there's, was badly set up, different roap lengths and control systems. There was no gain what-so-ever, but many drawbacks. Christ, they started 4 minutes and 50 something seconds after the gun! ESP and ITAS need to suck it in, and just accepthat the better sailors won. finally, maybe this comes down to the conditions. Should the RC have raced the 49ers in that breeze and sea state? Every single boat capsized at least once, and there was a mast breakge. N ot really medal race conditions... |
|
Online sailing: For when you just can't get to the club:
Visser49erracing |
|
![]() |
|
golfdane ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 21 Aug 08 Location: Denmark Online Status: Offline Posts: 15 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1: Sailing Instructions 18.7 states, that breaches of 21.1, 21.2 and 21.3, are not grounds for a protest by a boat. It also states, that the penalty for breaching it may be less than disqualification, should the jury so decide. IOW, a competitor can't protest towards infractions. 2: NoR point 4 states: Boats may be required to carry cameras, sound equipment or positioning equipment as specified by the organizing authority. 3: Point 13.7 in MR states: A breach of this Instruction will not be grounds for protest by a boat. This changes RRS 60.1(a). The penalty for a breach of this Instruction will be at the discretion of the International Jury and may include ranking the boat tenth in the regatta. If there are two such boats they will be ranked ninth and tenth, in order of their opening-series ranks, etc. 4: Violation of appendix G in RRS. G4 states: When a protest committee finds that a boat has broken a rule of this appendix it shall either warn her and give her time to comply or penalize her. Of course, the italians and the spanish calls for a disqualification, but I believe the jury decides. When the danish crew appearently was allowed to race in the croatian boat (and I assume they were since they weren't removed from the course), do I think that the OMC and the RC was informed of the switch and the false identifications. Information, that I believe the support boats were allowed to inform crews about, should they so wish (freely available to everyone). http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/OG2008_MeasurementReg s_Issue1-[5405].pdf http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/08_OG_SailingInstruct ions-[5934].pdf http://www.sailing2008.org/file01/NoticeofRace-OlympicSailin gCompetition.pdf http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/RRS2005-2008-[502].pdf |
|
![]() |
|
Spyderman ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Feb 08 Location: Netherlands Online Status: Offline Posts: 39 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Addendum Q: Q5 PROTESTS; REQUESTS FOR REDRESS OR REOPENING; APPEALS; OTHER PROCEEDINGS Q5.1 No proceedings of any kind may be taken in relation to any action or non-action by an umpire, except as permitted in instruction Q5.2. Q5.2 (a) A boat may not base a request for redress on a claim that an action by an official boat or helicopter was improper. The protest committee may Beijing Organizing Committee for the Games of the XXIX Olympiad (BOCOG) 15 decide to consider giving redress in such circumstances if it believes that an official boat or helicopter, including an umpire boat, may have seriously interfered with a competing boat. The race committee may request the protest committee to consider this. (b) A boat may not base a request for redress on a claim that an action by an umpire acting under Addendum P was incorrect. The protest committee may decide to consider giving redress in such circumstances, but only to the extent permitted by Addendum P. Q5.3 A boat may not request redress under rule 62.1(a). The protest committee may decide to consider giving redress under that rule if it believes that an error may have been made. The race committee may request the protest committee to consider this. Q5.4 A boat may not base an appeal on an alleged improper action, omission or decision of the umpires or the protest committee. In rule 66 the third sentence is changed to ‘A party to the hearing may not ask for a reopening.’ Q5.5 (a) Protests and requests for redress need not be in writing. (b) The protest committee may take evidence and conduct the hearing in any way it considers appropriate and may communicate its decision orally. Q5.6 The race committee will not protest a boat except for an alleged breach of a measurement rule. Q5.7 The protest committee will not protest a boat for breaking instruction Q3.2 or Q4.2(a), a rule listed in instruction Q2.1, or rule 14 when there is no damage or injury. How do you want the on the water Umpires see if a boat complies with a measurement rule? They look for infringements on Part 2 rules and penalize only when a boat protests. Did ESP and ITA protests DEN? No the RC did. ITA and ESP requested redress afterwards, which is invalid in a medal race. You can't cover all eventualities, sailing has too many variables. |
|
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
|
|
![]() |
|
RyanV49er ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 28 Oct 07 Online Status: Offline Posts: 217 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yeah this may happen occasionally in a few random cases, but it just seems far more likely to happen in sailing. The on water umpires were supposed to sort this out in the medal race, shame it hasn't. And I don't think we can compare this to doping. That's completely different. |
|
Online sailing: For when you just can't get to the club:
Visser49erracing |
|
![]() |
|
alstorer ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 02 Aug 07 Location: Cambridge Online Status: Offline Posts: 2899 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
However, medals being changed hours or days after is not unique to sailing- for instance, in the 200m Sprint in Athletics the Bronze has been won by the guy who crossed the line 5th- one runner was disqualified (for stepping out of his lane) almost immediatly, and another for the same offence several hours later when the race was reviewed.
Then there's the doping scandal going down concerning horses... |
|
![]() |
|
RyanV49er ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 28 Oct 07 Online Status: Offline Posts: 217 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There's also a rule saying that protests can't be made during the medal race as there is an on the water jury.. Hmmm, I'm no lawyer but I thought they had rules to stop this sort of thing happening during and after the final race. I.e. Ben vs Sheidt at sydney. People want a medal decided when the sailors get off the water. not 19 hours or two weeks later.
|
|
Online sailing: For when you just can't get to the club:
Visser49erracing |
|
![]() |
|
golfdane ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 21 Aug 08 Location: Denmark Online Status: Offline Posts: 15 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
SI 18.7 Breaches of instructions 2, 3, 10.3, 13.3, 20, 21.1, 21.2, 21.3, 23, 24, 25, 27 and 28 will not be grounds for a protest by a boat. This changes rule 60.1(a). Penalties for these breaches may be less than disqualification if the jury so decides. http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/08_OG_SailingInstruct ions-[5934].pdf http://www.sailing2008.org/file01/NoticeofRace-OlympicSailin gCompetition.pdf I simply can't see that the jury has ruled AGAINST the rules. One might disagree with their judgement, but the fundamental rule 3c in RRS states, that decisions by the jury are to be respected, and not brought to other instances than those mentioned in the rules (can't find CAS anywhere).
|
|
![]() |
|
RyanV49er ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 28 Oct 07 Online Status: Offline Posts: 217 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
i'm thinking that the Spanish and Italian Olympic committee protests could really damage our sport. The America's cup scandal is bad enough, but the olympics should not involve lawyers. The Danish won and they deserved it. end of story.
|
|
Online sailing: For when you just can't get to the club:
Visser49erracing |
|
![]() |
|
xaheadx ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 Feb 07 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Press release from CAS:
[URL=http://www.tas- cas.org/d2wfiles/document/1859/5048/0/Press%20Release%2011bi s.pdf]ht tp://www.tas- cas.org/d2wfiles/document/1859/5048/0/Press%20Release%2011bi s.pdf[/ URL] |
|
![]() |
|
Spyderman ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Feb 08 Location: Netherlands Online Status: Offline Posts: 39 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
From the CAS web site: http://www.tas-cas.org/en/infogenerales.asp/4-3-1842-1092-4- 1-1/5-0-1092-15-1-1/ Beijing, 20 August 2008 – The Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) hereby states that no appeal or application has been filed up to the time of publication of the present media release, at 7pm (Beijing time) on 20 August 2008. The CAS will not look at the facts found nor conclusion or decision of the International Jury. They look at if the procedure and format have been followed. Only if they find fault in those they might reject the verdict.... |
|
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 34567 19> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |