IRC sailing rules |
Post Reply
|
| Author | |
RobC
Newbie
Joined: 25 May 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: IRC sailing rulesPosted: 18 May 08 at 7:37pm |
|
Is there a rule governing the use of a headsail along with a spinnaker, i.e. sailing with three sails, except fo the purpose of a sail change? |
|
![]() |
|
Spyderman
Newbie
Joined: 27 Feb 08 Location: Netherlands Online Status: Offline Posts: 39 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 19 May 08 at 4:04am |
|
RRS has a few rules about sails:
50.1 Changing Sails When headsails or spinnakers are being changed, a replacing sail may be fully set and trimmed before the replaced sail is lowered. However, only one mainsail and, except when changing, only one spinnaker shall be carried set at a time. 50.2 Spinnaker Poles; Whisker Poles Only one spinnaker pole or whisker pole shall be used at a time except when gybing. When in use, it shall be attached to the foremost mast. etc. You may set three sails, there's no rule stating that you have to lower your headsail when you set your Spi. Edited by Spyderman |
|
|
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
|
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd
Really should get out more
Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 19 May 08 at 7:24am |
|
No. We used to do this on a small IRC boat when using the jib in a breeze, since it avoided the weight of the bowman on the bow during the douse. However genoa+spinnaker = slow. Edited by Stefan Lloyd |
|
![]() |
|
RobC
Newbie
Joined: 25 May 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 19 May 08 at 10:11am |
|
Yes/no? - the above echos the discussion on our boat during our last race when a competitor was flying 3 sails on a long down wind - as the tactican it was my understanding that it was illegal under IRC rules, as per spydermans comments, & I agree that it would adversely affect out own performance but may affect a protest decisions.
|
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd
Really should get out more
Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 19 May 08 at 11:59am |
|
Spyderman said "You may set three sails, there's no rule stating that you have to lower your headsail when you set your Spi." and I said the same. RRS allows it and there is nothing in IRC that overrides that. IRC rules may be found http://rorcrating.com/ir2000/irc/2008/IRC2008_Rule_Final_710 26.pdf should you wish to read them yourself. Rule 26.3 is the relevant section.
Edited by Stefan Lloyd |
|
![]() |
|
Post Reply
|
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |