New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Trapezing and Windward Boat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Trapezing and Windward Boat

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>
Author
Mozzy View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 21 Apr 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Trapezing and Windward Boat
    Posted: 05 Apr 22 at 8:14am
Originally posted by 423zero

You are talking a sizeable space to allow for L boat to be able to capsize without touching W, seems to be a gamble by W on a crowded start line, perhaps RO should call any  boats that are to close ?

It's an interesting one, not sure who sailed in to the start line gap. But more often than not it is the leeward boat that sails in from astern and close to the windward boat, to then give them maximum space to bear off and accelerate.

I wasn't involved in the incident, only had it told to me second hand. The contact happened shortly after the start. I wonder if the windward boat ever had opportunity to get more than a mast length to windward before the leeward boat capsized. 

I also forgot, I think the windward boat, whose sail was torn, also got DND as damage was caused in the collision. So instead of getting redress they expected, they ended up with a DND and  RTD. 
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 22 at 6:44am
   
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by sargesail

...trapeze ... It’s actually really hard to look into that space behind you!
That's no doubt what the guys behind the big assy in Case 107 said. It didn't wash.
Originally posted by sargesail

Head to head on keelboats who are not looking behind their genoas is very different from trapeze skiffs where the speed differential between the boat close to the line, compared with the one approaching late might be 1:3….and that is 3 knots to 9 knots in planing conditions.

Closing speed in Case 107 might have been 3kts + 6kts = 9kts. Not really relevant. Case 107 says that if it's there to be seen and you didn't see it, or see it in time, you are not keeping a good lookout and not doing what is required of you to avoid contact under rule 14, no matter what obstructions, like a assy or being behind your back there are.

In practice, as you observed, in the hiking out scenario, it is very unlikely that there will be damage or injury, so L will nearly always be exonerated.

I get the sense that in your above post you are maybe feeling around for a rule 14 second sentence get out of gaol.

I knew W was there, but because of the angles etc etc, it was never clear to me that W wasn't luffing up to keep clear, so the time for me to act never arose.

It doesn't appeal to me.





Back to Top
423zero View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 08 Jan 15
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3420
Post Options Post Options   Quote 423zero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 22 at 7:46pm
You are talking a sizeable space to allow for L boat to be able to capsize without touching W, seems to be a gamble by W on a crowded start line, perhaps RO should call any  boats that are to close ?
Robert
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 22 at 3:09pm
Originally posted by Mozzy

This is something that pops up a lot sailing the 800. Boats sailing in from behind tight to you, but not enough space for them to step out on the trapeze or for the windward boats leeward tiller to drop to leeward at they try to head up.Also remind me of a story from the 29er fleet.  Not long after the start the leeward boat dropped their main sheet and capsized to windward. The tip of their mast tore through the windward boats sail. They finished the race, but had to go in for the next one to switch sails. The windward boat then applied for redress.. and not only was not reinstated to the second race, but was disqualified from the first race for not keeping clear (leeward boat didn't change course). 


I imagine that felt fairly harsh to W! But I think that degree of ‘protection’ to L is appropriate, especially in our start line trapezing contact example.
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 22 at 3:05pm
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by sargesail



You’re not a trapeze crew are you? It’s actually really hard to look into that space behind you!


No I'm not.

That's no doubt what the guys behind the big assy in Case 107 said. It didn't wash.

Head to head on keelboats who are not looking behind their genoas is very different from trapeze skiffs where the speed differential between the boat close to the line, compared with the one approaching late might be 1:3….and that is 3 knots to 9 knots in planing conditions.

Originally posted by sargesail


So I was talking about 16.1 in the post above at 1842.


I don't know why: nobody has ever said that L changed course.

You said

Originally posted by sargesail


Surely no one would argue that in this situation 16.1 applies…


I agree with that.

Originally posted by sargesail


Does L break rule 14 if she brings the boat upright into the mast of a windward boat above her hull?

If there isn’t some leeway for L why does the word ‘reasonable’ feature in the rule?


Yes.

It was reasonably possible for L to not bring her boat upright, therefore it was reasonably possible for her to avoid contact.

The test is not was the action [of bring the boat upright] reasonable.

The test is was it reasonably possible not to bring the boat upright.



Coming back to rule 16.

Educate me about pulling the trigger.

Does pulling the trigger necessarily involve changing course?

Is that what's bubbling along about this rule 16 stuff?

Can it reasonably be argued that pulling the trigger:

* usually involves changing heading from slightly below CH to CH? OR
* by accelerating and the action of the centreboard as the boat comes upright, involves the boat's track moving ahead and to windward (thus changing course)?


No I don’t think that can be reasonably argued as a general rule. Albeit it seems to underpin some posters’ views in this thread it is not the case that a trigger pull necessarily involves a change of course. It would be wrong for a PC to assume that it did.

On the last question of the CB levering the boat’s track to windward, I would say that on very many occasions that I have watched Opis trigger pulling, where W asserted that L had changed course, in 90% of cases it was not magic movement to windward by L but a less good trigger pull by W resulting in W continuing to slide to leeward.

Which to W felt like magic by L!

Crabbing….now that is another matter…..
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 22 at 2:54pm
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by sargesail


I was referring to US65 because of the double incident concept…..my point being that it would be hard for 14b not to apply unless there were something which made it 2 incidents. Sorry for the confusion


We usually treat the coming together, with all the rules 11 14, 16 implications as one incident. It's something, all connected, happening within a few seconds.

What sort of 'something which made it two incidents' did you have in mind?



Yes it would be my expectation that it would be treated as a single incident. I guess two incidents might be if L altered course as a result of the initial contact and that W made it clear that it had two protests?
Back to Top
Mozzy View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 21 Apr 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 22 at 12:53pm
This is something that pops up a lot sailing the 800. Boats sailing in from behind tight to you, but not enough space for them to step out on the trapeze or for the windward boats leeward tiller to drop to leeward at they try to head up.

Also remind me of a story from the 29er fleet.  Not long after the start the leeward boat dropped their main sheet and capsized to windward. The tip of their mast tore through the windward boats sail. They finished the race, but had to go in for the next one to switch sails. The windward boat then applied for redress.. and not only was not reinstated to the second race, but was disqualified from the first race for not keeping clear (leeward boat didn't change course). 
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 10:15pm
Originally posted by sargesail


I was referring to US65 because of the double incident concept…..my point being that it would be hard for 14b not to apply unless there were something which made it 2 incidents. Sorry for the confusion


We usually treat the coming together, with all the rules 11 14, 16 implications as one incident. It's something, all connected, happening within a few seconds.

What sort of 'something which made it two incidents' did you have in mind?

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 10:11pm
Originally posted by sargesail



You’re not a trapeze crew are you? It’s actually really hard to look into that space behind you!


No I'm not.

That's no doubt what the guys behind the big assy in Case 107 said. It didn't wash.

Originally posted by sargesail


So I was talking about 16.1 in the post above at 1842.


I don't know why: nobody has ever said that L changed course.

You said

Originally posted by sargesail


Surely no one would argue that in this situation 16.1 applies…


I agree with that.

Originally posted by sargesail


Does L break rule 14 if she brings the boat upright into the mast of a windward boat above her hull?

If there isn’t some leeway for L why does the word ‘reasonable’ feature in the rule?


Yes.

It was reasonably possible for L to not bring her boat upright, therefore it was reasonably possible for her to avoid contact.

The test is not was the action [of bring the boat upright] reasonable.

The test is was it reasonably possible not to bring the boat upright.



Coming back to rule 16.

Educate me about pulling the trigger.

Does pulling the trigger necessarily involve changing course?

Is that what's bubbling along about this rule 16 stuff?

Can it reasonably be argued that pulling the trigger:

* usually involves changing heading from slightly below CH to CH? OR
* by accelerating and the action of the centreboard as the boat comes upright, involves the boat's track moving ahead and to windward (thus changing course)?
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 7:20pm
A leeward boat sailing upwind on stbd tack with no obstructions near by has every right of way going. Why (and how) would they expect to look over their shoulder to see if they were in close contact with another boat, knowing that they must be right of way boat over any other?  Surely if L can’t sail her normal course in her normal manner (i.e. with possibility of needing to trapeze) then W isn’t keeping clear?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy