Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Trapezing and Windward Boat |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345> |
Author | ||||||
davidyacht ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1345 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 4:12pm |
|||||
I don't think you need to be trapezing, historically I can recall several occasions where hard hiking after the start would have my head in the boat to windward's jib. I don't think I am allowed to do that now, but it did make the point without causing damage.
|
||||||
Happily living in the past
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
You’re not a trapeze crew are you? It’s actually really hard to look into that space behind you! So I was talking about 16.1 in the post above at 1842. Does L break rule 14 if she brings the boat upright into ty mast of a windward boat above her hull? If there isn’t some leeway for L why does the word ‘reasonable’ feature in the rule? I was referring to US65 because of the double incident concept…..my point being that it would be hard for 14b not to apply unless there were something which made it 2 incidents. Sorry for the confusion Edited by sargesail - 31 Mar 22 at 2:41pm |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
I'm not for one moment suggesting that W isn't failing to keep clear. What I'm saying, and I think you're saying above, is that that is because L needs to take avoiding action, the first part of Definition:Keep Clear, not the second part 'can't change course in either direction '. There's no doubt that if the crew of L swings in, or bends, or moves theyr hand or head to avoid touching W, that's avoiding action. What I'm playing around with is whether ceasing to extend, or, as you put it 'forced inaction' is 'action. |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
SEE GMLs post second in the thread. L breaks rule 14. No beg-you-pardons.
Nah, don't buy that. L, like everybody else is required to keep a good lookout.
That I do buy<g>.
Don't get your reference. USA Appeal 65 is about one incident or two, which I don't think applies here, and the more relevant Appeal for you is RYA 2003/3. Did you mean US Appeal 45? That's about anticipation, and I don't think that's relevant here either.
Yes, but there might be some injury caused by the windward boat on some soft flesh. |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
I've always sailed fast and delicate boats, so I accept I am far less comfortable with very close quarters sailing than the majority. There's danger of too much logic chopping here, which is always dangerous when dealing with the rules, but what precisely is avoiding action? If the Right of Way boat has to modify her actions (and does forced inaction count as that?) because of the presence of the Give Way boat then I find it very hard to accept that the Give Way boat is keeping clear. |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Are understood - so you are suggesting that leeward could be in breach of 14 if it doesn’t take the available option of not stretching out?
Which might be the case….but it would be my contention that in most cases 14. a would apply….a crew going out needn’t check that space to windward, and their first apprehension of contact would probably be head on jib r whatever. And that there would be few cases where exoneration under 14 b wouldn’t apply…..in fact notwithstanding US case 65, I would say that damage or injury would not have been caused by soft flesh on windward boat. |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Quibbling around with words.
Going out on trapeze must certainly be an 'action', but obviously not an 'avoiding action' Is 'not [stretching] out on the trapeze [to avoid touching W]' an 'action? See rule 62.1(a). Edited by Brass - 31 Mar 22 at 7:28am |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Anyone want to argue that trapeze not going to full stretch is not an action? Crew going out on trapeze may be a normal act of seamanship, not to be unexpected. Otherwise Case 73[/QUOTE] Brass - wondered why you raise going out on the trapeze as an action? It doesn’t seem to come within the scope of the use of ‘action’ in the definition of Keep clear, nor rules 15 or 16? Edited by sargesail - 31 Mar 22 at 6:42am |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Yup
Different. When you reach your close hauled course, you get a rule 15 obligation to give W room to keep clear Edited by Brass - 31 Mar 22 at 2:10am |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
There's no doubt that W does not keep clear. Contact almost always proves failure to keep clear. It was the 'already' I was balking at. In the 1/4 inch example, crew could possibly be in a different plane to the hull of W (and not in amongst her shrouds). I don't think that the definition of keep clear necessarily works. I just think that somewhere around the 1/4 inch mark, give or take an inch, L needs to take avoiding action. That gets you there. Anyone want to argue that trapeze not going to full stretch is not an action? Crew going out on trapeze may be a normal act of seamanship, not to be unexpected. Otherwise Case 73 |
||||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |