Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
New Britannia |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 1314151617 22> |
Author | |
423zero ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 08 Jan 15 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3420 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 24 Jan 21 at 5:05pm |
https://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/americas-cup-2021-luna-rossas-jimmy-spithill-questions-umpires-call-in-prada-cup-loss-to-ineos-team-uk/OYMYFWEM2LKTXSL7NLGZBCTNOM/
|
|
Robert
|
|
![]() |
|
PeterG ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 12 Jan 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 822 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Protestor disagrees with their protest being rejected shock!
Not sure I'd attach too much significance to Spithill disagreeing with the result.
|
|
Peter
Ex Cont 707 Ex Laser 189635 DY 59 |
|
![]() |
|
423zero ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 08 Jan 15 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3420 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Explains the rule apparently breached, to do with safety zones.
|
|
Robert
|
|
![]() |
|
tink ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 23 Jan 16 Location: North Hants Online Status: Offline Posts: 789 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If you sign up to yellow card and posible DSQ for non performance enhancing rule violations the measures didn’t spot you have to sign up to the umpires decisions.
|
|
Tink
https://tinkboats.com http://proasail.blogspot.com |
|
![]() |
|
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
In my opinion the closest points of contact had Prada not luffed at the last minute would have been Ineos Transom to Prada port side foil. This would mean they would have had to have been within 2 meters of Ineos to get a penalty. To me they looked miles off of that. ![]() Edited by ClubRacer - 24 Jan 21 at 5:59pm |
|
![]() |
|
NickA ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 30 Mar 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 784 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So simple port / starboard but with a requirement to give safety room rather than just not hit.
seems Luna Rossa did their best to force a penalty by bearing off, but if they'd not borne away, then they'd have passed further behind Brittania and if they'd borne off more would have slowed down and still passed behind Brittania. That "avoiding" swerve at the end was surely theatrical. I'm with the judges on this one. |
|
Javelin 558
Contender 2574 |
|
![]() |
|
Old bloke ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 03 Nov 17 Online Status: Offline Posts: 121 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
LR have tried at least 3 protests by waving their bow towards the windward boat. They were all called no foul and really looked highly speculative and I would almost think worth a rule 2 fair sailing counter protest. I thought the bear away protest was in the same league, manufactured and couldn't have hit him if he tried
|
|
![]() |
|
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
They are perfectly entitled to bear away in an attempt to gain some distance as they are ROW boat (as long as they give Ineos time to keep clear which they did)
The luffing earlier in the race was a little tougher to call from the camera angles we saw but at one point it looked pretty close to Ineos not keeping clear. You can see at the start when Ben went to swap sides, had Jimmy kept going up they would have had them banged to rights as Scott wouldn't have been able to see them clearly from where he was on the starboard wheel and not kept clear. Later in the race was also marginal 2:22:20 in the link below. LR luffed and ben was a good 3 seconds off responding which in my opinion was a little slow. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8--jRxcXgM&ab_channel=America%27sCup Don't forget this is match racing. The whole aim is to finish ahead of your opponent and it has always been a key strategy to force them into a foul to get some distance between them, Jimmy isn't doing anything which we've not seen in every Americas cup already Edited by ClubRacer - 24 Jan 21 at 7:45pm |
|
![]() |
|
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So, you are passing clear ahead on the angles being sailed. The ROW boat can bear away provided the give way boat has time to keep clear. But where can the give way boat keep clear to? If they luff, they slow down, makes things worse. If they bear away they get closer, makes things worse. They are committed to passing, as would be clear ahead without the bear away, so can't tack without getting in the way. So surely the ROW bear away would have to be early enough for give way to have time to tack, duck or slow.
|
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
https://youtu.be/N8--jRxcXgM?t=9804
Using the graphics at the bottom, from the moment both boats are on their respective tack (port for ineos and starboard for prada) you can see Ineos lead dissolve rapidly. If you've ever got your self into that position you'l know the options are a massive luff to get behind them/ gybe to windward of them or keep going and hope you're clear. If you've done the massive luff in a spinnaker boat (which I would say these things are closest too when they're screaming downwind) you'l know what the chances of success are. They had plenty of time to prep for a gybe if they needed it and had plenty of time to execute it even after Prada beared away. They took their chance on the cross and judged it just right. The rules upwind prevent you (ROW) bearing off towards another boat (GW) from the moment when GW is pointing behind your transom (dial down) but nothing stops you as ROW pointing at their transom first and then slowly heading up (dial up) as long as you while you're changing course you're giving them room to keep clear (basically the only option as GW without infringing is to tack) There was a good video of I think Nick Thompson doing it at an event a couple years back, I think Oman or possibly Princess sofia 16.2 In addition, on a beat to windward when a port-tack boat is keeping
clear by sailing to pass to leeward of a starboard-tack boat, the
starboard-tack boat shall not bear away if as a result the port-tack
boat must change course immediately to continue keeping clear. For the AC these are inverted for downwind. A ROW boat cannot luff to towards a GW boat that is already taking the ROW boats transom. But nothing stops you doing it the other way around (As Prada did) as long as it complies with 16.1 16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other
boat room to keep clear. AC Rule only: 16.3 When sailing to a mark that is to leeward, a starboard-tack yacht shall not luff to a course that is above her proper course if at that moment the port-tack yacht that is keeping clear by sailing a course to pass to windward of her has to immediately change course to continue keeping clear.
Edited by ClubRacer - 24 Jan 21 at 9:12pm |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 1314151617 22> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |