Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Room for an obstruction |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Author | |
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 1:42pm |
Yes it very interesting, thank you for your time with it.
Laser did say they tacked asap after hail... Solo did not slam in a tack.. solo waited for response. and heard not so tack.. no would where the impact on the boat now become relevant? as this i do not know..
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
As so often happens as the details come out it gets messier. Never mind, we can sort it out.
Did the Laser tack as soon as possible after the hail? If so she has complied with her rule 20.2(c) obligation, without needing to say a word. Leaving aside the 'room and opportunity' gibberish is Laser saying "I tacked as soon as I reasonably could, but Solo slammed into her tack without giving me enough time to respond"? |
|
![]() |
|
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
just to be clear..
Two boats a solo and laser sailing up to a windward mark.
There is an obstruction in the way in this case a pontoon. Solo calls for room to tack.. Here's no reply so tacks and then there is a collision (no damage or injury) on the back corner of the laser who is tacking. Laser is saying. Solo did not give room and opertunity - solo. Said I called waited no reply and needed to tack I said that there has to be some atcipation as both boats know there pontoon is there. |
|
![]() |
|
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sorry, missed that part..
Solo Hailed... no reply from laser... tacked.. laser tacked collision... I dont see any entitlement to room? other than laser has to reply and then act... be that sail on or tack?
Edited by Nacnud_smada - 24 Sep 20 at 12:49pm |
|
![]() |
|
davidyacht ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1345 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Similar situation the other day ... two boats sailing to windward on starboard with a couple of boat lengths separation, leeward calls "room" as a precursor to tacking then completes tack onto port at which point starboard tack boat calls him back onto port.
If the windward boat had responded by saying "you tack" does the windward boat give away the right to call the leeward boat back onto starboard? How close does a hailed boat have to be to be obligated to respond? Does a boat that does not need to respond have to either hail or manoeuvre even if the hail is opportunistic and unnecessary?
|
|
Happily living in the past
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So
Solo WAS entitled to hail, hailed, gave the Laser time to respond: Solo complied with rule 20. Laser did not respond by either tacking or hailing 'you tack': Laser broke rule 20.2(c). OP did not mention Laser tacking, so lets assume that Laser did not tack, remained on Starboard. There was contact either just before or just after the Solo reached her close hauled course on Port: Solo broke either rule 13 or rule 10. Was the Laser entitled to room? if so under what rule? Was the Solo entitled to room? if so under what rule? |
|
![]() |
|
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So two boat on same tack
Rules 11, In play.. not broke Rules 20.. Kicks in.. 20.1 there was a hail. not broke 20.2 - was there a response... nothing heard.. you tack... or tacking.... Broke - laser wrong. collision happened while tacking... so rule 13.. had so Solo completed tack at point of collision? (unsure) if not then solo wrong. if yes, Was laser tacking... if yes. laser in wrong as did not keep clear? it both had complete tack.. who was to leeward then rule 11 back into play.... What do you think? |
|
![]() |
|
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Dunno yet.
Need to do what you suggest.. When I'm at a computer 😂😂🖥️🖥️💻 |
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So
Which boats broke what rules? |
|
![]() |
|
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Ahhh englighting
Thank you |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |