Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Room for an obstruction |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Author | ||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 10:30am |
|||
A hailed boat shall respond either by tacking as soon as
possible, or by immediately replying ‘You tack’ and then giving the hailing boat room to tack and avoid her. Does this part not get rid of the While tacking rule? |
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Nothing 'switches off' the Part 2 Section A Right of Way rules (rules 10 to 13). The closest you can get is that a boat that fails to keep clear may be exonerated if she is sailing within that room or mark-room to which she is entitled (rule 21), or is compelled to not keep clear by another boat breaking a rule (rule 64.1(a)). So a good place to start in solving a rules problem, is to identify who has right of way, and whether a right of way rule has been broken. Then you can look at whether other rules have been broken. Then consider exoneration. And not one of the rules mentions 'room and opportunity'. |
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Ahhh englighting
Thank you |
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
So
Which boats broke what rules? |
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Dunno yet.
Need to do what you suggest.. When I'm at a computer 😂😂🖥️🖥️💻 |
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
So two boat on same tack
Rules 11, In play.. not broke Rules 20.. Kicks in.. 20.1 there was a hail. not broke 20.2 - was there a response... nothing heard.. you tack... or tacking.... Broke - laser wrong. collision happened while tacking... so rule 13.. had so Solo completed tack at point of collision? (unsure) if not then solo wrong. if yes, Was laser tacking... if yes. laser in wrong as did not keep clear? it both had complete tack.. who was to leeward then rule 11 back into play.... What do you think? |
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
So
Solo WAS entitled to hail, hailed, gave the Laser time to respond: Solo complied with rule 20. Laser did not respond by either tacking or hailing 'you tack': Laser broke rule 20.2(c). OP did not mention Laser tacking, so lets assume that Laser did not tack, remained on Starboard. There was contact either just before or just after the Solo reached her close hauled course on Port: Solo broke either rule 13 or rule 10. Was the Laser entitled to room? if so under what rule? Was the Solo entitled to room? if so under what rule? |
||||
![]() |
||||
davidyacht ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1345 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Similar situation the other day ... two boats sailing to windward on starboard with a couple of boat lengths separation, leeward calls "room" as a precursor to tacking then completes tack onto port at which point starboard tack boat calls him back onto port.
If the windward boat had responded by saying "you tack" does the windward boat give away the right to call the leeward boat back onto starboard? How close does a hailed boat have to be to be obligated to respond? Does a boat that does not need to respond have to either hail or manoeuvre even if the hail is opportunistic and unnecessary?
|
||||
Happily living in the past
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Sorry, missed that part..
Solo Hailed... no reply from laser... tacked.. laser tacked collision... I dont see any entitlement to room? other than laser has to reply and then act... be that sail on or tack?
Edited by Nacnud_smada - 24 Sep 20 at 12:49pm |
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |