New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Room for an obstruction
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Room for an obstruction

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Nacnud_smada View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Jun 19
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 50
Post Options Post Options   Quote Nacnud_smada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Room for an obstruction
    Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 10:30am
A hailed boat shall respond either by tacking as soon as
possible, or by immediately replying ‘You tack’ and then
giving the hailing boat room to tack and avoid her.

Does this part not get rid of the While tacking rule?
Back to Top
Nacnud_smada View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Jun 19
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 50
Post Options Post Options   Quote Nacnud_smada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 10:31am
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by PeterG


Originally posted by Brass

OK, so if both boats started out close hauled on starboard, then the Solo is going to be required to keep clear from the time she passes head to wind until and after the point of contact.

What about 20.2(c)? Surely the hailed boat (Laser) has to respond? The implication above is that time was given and no response was forthcoming.


That's right.

So which boats broke what rules?

Originally posted by PeterG

Was there room for the Solo to tack and keep clear?





This is partly why the room and opportunity popped up..
What if there wasn't?
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 10:34am
Originally posted by Nacnud_smada

OK, so when tacking for an onstruction the whole tacking rule still applies? But room and opportunity does not..
Intresting


Nothing 'switches off' the Part 2 Section A Right of Way rules (rules 10 to 13).

The closest you can get is that a boat that fails to keep clear may be exonerated if she is sailing within that room or mark-room to which she is entitled (rule 21), or is compelled to not keep clear by another boat breaking a rule (rule 64.1(a)).

So a good place to start in solving a rules problem, is to identify who has right of way, and whether a right of way rule has been broken.

Then you can look at whether other rules have been broken.

Then consider exoneration.

And not one of the rules mentions 'room and opportunity'.
Back to Top
Nacnud_smada View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Jun 19
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 50
Post Options Post Options   Quote Nacnud_smada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 10:40am
Ahhh englighting
Thank you
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 10:48am
So

Which boats broke what rules?
Back to Top
Nacnud_smada View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Jun 19
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 50
Post Options Post Options   Quote Nacnud_smada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 10:48am
Dunno yet.
Need to do what you suggest.. When I'm at a computer 😂😂🖥️🖥️💻
Back to Top
Nacnud_smada View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Jun 19
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 50
Post Options Post Options   Quote Nacnud_smada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 11:39am
So two boat on same tack 
Rules 11, In play.. not broke 
Rules 20.. Kicks in.. 20.1 there was a hail. not broke
20.2 - was there a response... nothing heard.. you tack... or tacking.... Broke - laser wrong.
collision happened while tacking... so rule 13.. had so Solo completed tack at point of collision? (unsure) if not then solo wrong. if yes, Was laser tacking... if yes. laser in wrong as did not keep clear?
it both had complete tack.. who was to leeward then rule 11 back into play.... 

What do you think?

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 12:11pm
So

Solo WAS entitled to hail, hailed, gave the Laser time to respond: Solo complied with rule 20.

Laser did not respond by either tacking or hailing 'you tack': Laser broke rule 20.2(c).

OP did not mention Laser tacking, so lets assume that Laser did not tack, remained on Starboard. There was contact either just before or just after the Solo reached her close hauled course on Port: Solo broke either rule 13 or rule 10.

Was the Laser entitled to room? if so under what rule?

Was the Solo entitled to room? if so under what rule?
Back to Top
davidyacht View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 29 Mar 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1345
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidyacht Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 12:15pm
Similar situation the other day ... two boats sailing to windward on starboard with a couple of boat lengths separation, leeward calls "room" as a precursor to tacking then completes tack onto port at which point starboard tack boat calls him back onto port.

If the windward boat had responded by saying "you tack" does the windward boat give away the right to call the leeward boat back onto starboard?

How close does a hailed boat have to be to be obligated to respond?

Does a boat that does not need to respond have to either hail or manoeuvre even if the hail is opportunistic and unnecessary?
Happily living in the past
Back to Top
Nacnud_smada View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Jun 19
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 50
Post Options Post Options   Quote Nacnud_smada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 20 at 12:48pm
Sorry, missed that part.. 

Solo Hailed... no reply from laser... tacked.. laser tacked collision... 

I dont see any entitlement to room? other than laser has to reply and then act... be that sail on or tack?


Edited by Nacnud_smada - 24 Sep 20 at 12:49pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy