New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Port layline saga
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Port layline saga

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Port layline saga
    Posted: 30 Aug 20 at 7:46pm
So, Him (H) and You (Y).
Deal with ROW first.

Initially H has ROW. Y tacks, Y is leeward and has ROW. Neither boat changes tack, so when there's contact Y has ROW.

OK, what limitations are there on ROW boat?
Part B
RRS 15 says Y must initially give H room to keep clear, which was done.
RRS 16 says Y must give H room to keep clear if she changes course.
RRS 17 doesn't apply.
Part C
RRS 18 applies since at least one boat is in the zone and no condition in 18.1 applies.
Therefore 18.2 means that Y has to give H mark room.
Assuming it is indeed Stb rounding 18.3 tacking in the zone doesn't apply.
That means (definition) H is entitled to room to tack once she can make the mark after the tack.

So Y has ROW, but H is entitled to mark room. So its all in the detail of what happened in the messy bit with the windshift. Who changed course, or did both?
Back to Top
KazRob View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 22 Oct 16
Location: Scotland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 245
Post Options Post Options   Quote KazRob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 20 at 7:29pm
The classic text book play (assuming windward mark to be rounded to starboard)) is to keep your line but slow down to let the Stb boat past, reminding him not to tack in your water, and then continue on on port round the mark. The less sporting way it to try once you tacked and were to leeward of him would to try and push him off by luffing (slowly) up to almost head to wind. The downside to that, is it's easy to be mistaken as tacking in his water or not giving him room to keep clear.

Edited by KazRob - 30 Aug 20 at 7:30pm
OK 2249
D-1 138
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 20 at 7:18pm
Port or Stbd rounding? Sounds like Stbd from the description but best to be sure.


Edited by JimC - 30 Aug 20 at 7:23pm
Back to Top
epicfail View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 01 Dec 19
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 61
Post Options Post Options   Quote epicfail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 20 at 7:16pm
Today I was upwind on what I hoped was the port layline approx 3 lengths from the mark. I had to give way to a starboard tack boat heading for the same mark, I tacked under and was then the leeward boat and 1/2 a length ahead. Maybe I should have gone behind but this could have left me under the mark. 

As I am now the Leeward boat I have right of way. I was keen to tack back on port and head for the mark. The windward boat showed no sign of wanting to tack and go for the mark, there were other boats near the mark but they were making their way around. The wind was light and very shifty.

I asked the windward boat if it was going to tack, it replied that it wouldn't be able to make the mark and wanted to go a bit further on Starboard. I didn't agree and was keen to tack. It then got slightly messy due to a windshift and there was a very gentle coming together. I got told to do a penalty turn, so I did.

Discuss!


Edited by epicfail - 30 Aug 20 at 7:17pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy