New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Race rules...
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Race rules...

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Race rules...
    Posted: 15 Sep 19 at 10:39am
Originally posted by mozzy

In case 63 why doesn't B protest A instead of C? 

Boat A surely took more room than she needed to sail the course, as evidenced by another boat being able to fit through the gap. Surely that's an open and closed protest against A? I think B protested the wrong boat. 

The diagram in Case 63 is a bit inconsistent with the text, which says A passed the mark about one hull length to leeward.

Maybe B, owing mark-room to A, from the zone was content to take her gruel from A, but resented C nicking in. 
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 19 at 10:45am
Originally posted by ColPrice2002

Rule 18.2
"f. If a boat obtained an inside overlap from clear astern or by tacking to windward of the other boat and, from the time the overlap begins, the outside boat has been unable to give mark-room, she is not required to give it."

There are limits to claiming mark room...

True, but where and how is any boat in OP diagram unable to give mark-room?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy