Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Leeward Mark Rounding |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | ||||||
Sapspec8650 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 15 Jul 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 15 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 16 Jul 19 at 9:17am |
|||||
Hi - I am of a certain age (75 I think) & have been round the block several times. I now sail a single handed Heron & last week-end did so at the Heron Nationals. I had an incident that totally surprised me & I wonder if some of you out there can help.
So - I am approaching a leeward mark on a port, dead running - aiming to round to starboard. There is a boat on the same tack positioned slightly to lee of me. As I entered the Zone I call 'clear ahead, No water' & made to gybe... Now well in the zone the other boat calls 'windward boat - keep clear'. I reasoned he would ram me amidships so I held my port & gybed round behind him. My question. Does the windward leeward rule count in the zone? And while we are at it does the same apply for port/starboard. I didn't protest as I beat him by a country mile & it just seemed too much trouble. Grateful for your thoughts!
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Maybe only in the Heron fleet?!
|
||||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
laser193713 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 13 May 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 889 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Rule 11 only applies when boats are overlapped, so the fact that you were clear ahead means that it doesn't apply regardless of the mark being there.
Once you enter the 3 boat lengths zone without being overlapped with this boat, and clear ahead, you have every right to gybe around the mark. Were you in the zone and making your rounding when the other boat called you up? What happened after the incident? Did you protest? The whole scenario seems very odd
![]() |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Windward boat and port/starboard do apply in the zone, they don't get turned off. A Right of Way boat still has right of way. However the right to mark room overrides them.
In practice that means you have to sail straight to the mark, you can't take a wide sweeping turn.
I'm a bit confused by your description though, I can't quite picture it. Was the leeward boat behind you as you approached the zone and then became overlapped outside you? |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
![]() |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
laser193713 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 13 May 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 889 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Brass, 18.4 doesn't apply because the boats are not overlapped. The OP says that he was clear ahead.
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
If you were clear ahead when the closest boat reached the zone then the boat clear astern shall give Mark Room. Rule 18.2b, c and the definition of Mark Room cover this.
The W/L rule does still apply but the Leewards boats actions are restricted by the requirement for them to give you Mark Room.
However if there was doubt about the overlap or lack of it then be aware of 18.2e:
Edited by jeffers - 16 Jul 19 at 12:39pm |
||||||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Sounds like a little knowledge of the rules being a 'dangerous thing' in the case of your opponent. I suspect he has recently learned the W/L and P/S still apply in the zone but not that they don't override mark room.......
|
||||||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
ohFFsake ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 04 Sep 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 219 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Perhaps he is working his way through the rule book in order, and has yet to encounter rule 18 |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
|
||||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |