New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: starboard rounding rights
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

starboard rounding rights

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: starboard rounding rights
    Posted: 22 Apr 19 at 6:10pm
Originally posted by Sam.Spoons

But is Blue allowed to change course to prevent Yellow from keeping clear (which is what a luff would be)?


True, while they are on different tacks, the definition of keep clear does not allow for the RoW boat to be able to alter course.
However, the boat on port's entitlement to be able to keep clear does not mean the starboard boat has to allow it room to tack. If the port boat can only keep clear by aborting its tack and carrying on on port, it would probably have to do so? So blue can head up at least until yellow has no option but to complete the tack?

In practice, if this becomes a protest, it will be a case that blue alters course believing yellow has tacked too close. It will be different views of exactly how the boats were positioned.
Back to Top
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Apr 19 at 5:59pm
The ability to animate it exactly how it happened on the water is limiting. Yellows tack was completed before the overlap was established.


Back to Top
Sam.Spoons View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Mar 12
Location: Manchester UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3400
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sam.Spoons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Apr 19 at 5:06pm
But is Blue allowed to change course to prevent Yellow from keeping clear (which is what a luff would be)?
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish"
Back to Top
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Apr 19 at 3:36pm
Yellow is failing to keep clear of Blue when she tacks, as Blue could have hit her just by luffing a little.
If you re-imagine the animation with Y able to tack while keeping clear of B, the whole thing becomes a non-event.
Until you add in the other half dozen boats...
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 19 at 10:30pm
Originally posted by ClubRacer

but i presume Y still has to give room for B to keep clear initially as per rule 15 

Would be hard in a protest hearing to differentiate between Y not giving time for B or B not giving space for Y

At no time is Y a right of way boat:  she never has any obligations under rules 15 or 16, nor is she ever overlapped outside with mark-room obligations under rule 18.  At no time is Y required to give room to B to do anything.
Back to Top
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 19 at 10:00pm
but i presume Y still has to give room for B to keep clear initially as per rule 15 

Would be hard in a protest hearing to differentiate between Y not giving time for B or B not giving space for Y
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 19 at 9:52pm
@1 Y, on port is required to keep clear of B on starboard (rule 10), neither boat has reached the zone so there is no question of rule 18 applying.

@2 Y, still on port is required to keep clear of B still on starboard (rule 10), both boats are on a beat to windward, on opposite tacks and rule 18 does not apply (rule 18.1a).

@3 Y, on the same tack as B and overlapped to windward is still required to keep clear of B to leeward.  Boats are no longer on opposite tacks, and are in the zone so rule 18 applies.  Boats  were neither overlapped nor in a clear ahead/astern orientation when the first of them reached the zone, so rule 18.2b and c do not apply.  Rule 18.2a applies, B, the outside overlapped boat is required to give Y, inside, mark-room, and if, while sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, Y fails to keep clear of B, she shall be exonerated (rule 21a).


Edited by Brass - 21 Apr 19 at 10:23pm
Back to Top
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 19 at 7:17pm
From the diagram below what rights do each boat have at stages 1/2/3

My interpretation is port/starboard until yellow is passed head to wind and on its new course at which point I'm unsure if they acquire mark room or have zero rights at all as windward boat




Edited by ClubRacer - 21 Apr 19 at 9:03pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy