Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 161752 Tynemouth |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Flying Fifteen Worlds |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Author | |
NickM ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 27 May 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 328 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 9:41pm |
Jim. "44.1((b) if the boat caused injury or serious damage or, despite taking a penalty, gained a significant advantage in the race or series by her breach her penalty shall be to retire."
Is a "small hole" serious damage? Finishing 20th did not give Mr G any advantage over Jerwood who finished 4th. Maybe the Protest Committee decided that the luff was so sharp as to give Goacher no time to keep clear? Anyway this is all pure speculation. Edited by NickM - 03 Mar 17 at 9:41pm |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Don't think there's really going to be much doubt that a boat with a hole in is less functional and has a lowered market value. |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
However apparently the Jury disagreed... I suppose because they've split the incident in two and found GBR 4021 didn't break a rule in the second half.
http://ff15worlds2017.juryboard.org/hearingschedule/index.php |
|
![]() |
|
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I'm surprised by the facts found which are not very clear. I'll paraphrase them to expose the issue:
2. AUS 3986 luffed. GBR 4021 responded by luffing but not enough that it prevented convergence. 3. The boats became very close (so arguably GBR 4021 was not keeping clear at that stage). Then AUS 3986 luffed a second time (does that mean she had returned to her original course? Or that she increased the rate of luff when the boats were 'very close'). GBR 4021 tried to luff to keep clear by putting the helm down. That question is really pertinent: if she had returned to her original course she had given GBR 4021 an opportunity to keep clear by re-opening the gap. But if it was an increase on the luff then I can see why the 16.1 call was made, especially if they were already converging. The use of 'luffed a second time' is imprecise! But I think the decision probably hinges on the location of the damage. Because of course when AUS 3986 luffed her bow swung to windward. When GBR 4021 luffed it's likely that her stern swung to leeward. So in all probability she really couldn't keep clear. At a guess I reckon the Aussie boat went for the luff but was actually being rolled. The second or increased luff was a last desperate attempt. It would be really harsh to lob GBR under rule 14 given the location of the contact and damage.
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
No, if I were going to DSQ GBR it would be under 44.1b. It could be argued that if GBR had kept clear in the first place the second luff would not have occurred and so they bore a share of responsibility for an incident in which there was serious damage. I suspect it all would have depended on the nuances of what was heard from all parties.
But the moral of the story is "don't play bumper boats", and I really don't have a problem with that. AUS lost the champs when they initiated a collision causing damage, and they were always going to be DSQ for that: doing turns wouldn't have helped. |
|
![]() |
|
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
That makes sense, so in what way could GBR have been 'not keeping clear' surely AUS would have had to have changed course to avoid a collision for that to be demonstrable and it appears that they actually luffed a second time? It will be interesting when the footage, if there is any, gets on youtube.
It's a long time since I could claim to have a thorough knowledge of the RRS but I'm trying to learn as I'm racing again after many years. Rules 14, 15 and 16.1 in particular seems to be nothing more than a 'get out of jail free' card for a give way boat.
|
|
![]() |
|
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I meant 44.1 - had just been thinking about 14. |
|
![]() |
|
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If the Aus boat couldn't make an alteration of course in either direction (or continue with the current course) without there being contact then GBR hasn't kept clear.
|
|
![]() |
|
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Okay, thanks, that makes sense.
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There's not really a get out gaol free. To (over?)simplify, if Give way breaks a rule she is penalised - as in this incident where she took a penalty. However ROW boat may get penalised as well (again as in this example). Roughly speaking the only time GW doesn't get penalised is if she is keeping clear perfectly satisfactorily and ROW does something so late and so unexpectedly that its impossible for GW to respond and keep clear. I don't think that's unreasonable. Edited by JimC - 03 Mar 17 at 11:35pm |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |