Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 161752 Tynemouth |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Flying Fifteen Worlds |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | |
rich96 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 20 Jan 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 596 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 12:18pm |
Sounds like an eventful last race
Dow e know exactly what happened between the top two ? |
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Luffing incident on the first run it seems.
However it was not decided in the protest room as even with a 4th in the final race they would still be 2 points behind the winners.
|
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
|
rich96 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 20 Jan 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 596 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yes - I read that report too. More interested in exactly what happened (if anyone knows ?)
Also I think the scoring would have given the Jerwoods the title very comfortably without the DSQ - so it was totally critical |
|
![]() |
|
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I don't know what happened but does anybody think the current rules make deciding who was at fault much more complicated? Old (pre '96?) rule, hail "windward boat keep clear" until responding hail "mast abeam" the leeward boat is clearly in the right, after the second hail the windward boat is probably in the right if contact occurs (okay, I've sat on the odd protest committee back in the day and I know it's never quite that simple). Now it's anybodies guess whether the ROW leeward boat has luffed too quickly and failed to give the windward boat 'room to keep clear' ore some such.....
|
|
![]() |
|
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
No. Absolutely not.
|
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Not sure why the DSQ was counted, must have been less than 20...so yes they would have taken the title sorry (Friday afternioon) Edited by jeffers - 03 Mar 17 at 4:59pm |
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
|
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The DSQ must have been the discard even though it wasn't bracketed in the results (the 20th was instead) but the total came to 38 (exactly the sum of races 1-6) while the DSQ was shown as 58, correct as there were 57 entries (DSQ=last+1).
As you say, if the 4th in the last race had counted they would have been on 22 points for a comfortable victory. Unless, of course the incident hadn't happened in the first place and then who knows, Goacher and Harper did turns as a consequence of the incident so finished well down the fleet in that race but to beat the Jerwoods' 22 points they would have had to finish 8th or better (which looks quite likely if they hadn't done turns).
Edited by Sam.Spoons - 03 Mar 17 at 5:32pm |
|
![]() |
|
NickM ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 27 May 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 328 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Pure guess: the Jerwoods luffed Goacher who collided with them and duly did turns but protested the Jerwoods under 14A?
Edited by NickM - 03 Mar 17 at 6:58pm |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Online Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
According to the report there was a hole in one boat so it seems likely that 44.1b would apply and doing turns wouldn't have been enough: any boat that was found to have broken a rule would be looking at a DSQ even if they had done a 720. |
|
![]() |
|
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The hole was in the Jerwoods' boat so, if that's the case surely they must have been protested under rule 14? Either way the PC decided that Goacher's actions did not warrant a DSQ.
Just re-read that last post, so what you're saying JimC is that Goacher was wasting his time doing turns?....... Maybe he wasn't aware that there was damage? Edited by Sam.Spoons - 03 Mar 17 at 9:12pm |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |