Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Leeward Mark |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | |||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 21 Feb 17 at 10:15pm |
||
There is no meaning to the term 'claim mark room or room'. A boat is either entitled to room or she is not. Let's look at two clear cut examples. First conditions moderate, perfectly possible for a competent but not expert crew to gybe. Once the first boat has reached the zone rule 18.4 will require the inside right of way boat to gybe to sail her proper course. If she attempts to luff and tack she breaks rule 18.4 at least. If the inside boat wants to luff and tack she needs to do it before the zone. Second, heavy conditions, where it would not be safe and seamanlike for a boat with competent but not expert crew to gybe. No boat needs to gybe.Rule 18.4 will not apply, and as the inside boat luffs, it's going to be rules 11 and 16, then after the tack rule 18 again. In these conditions you would expect boats to be keeping plenty of separation so each tacking should not be a problem. Somewhere in the middle is the case where the inside boat judges (and a protest committee would agree) that it is not safe and seamanlike to gybe (maybe characteristics of the boat) but the outside boat can, and wants to gybe. Here's the rub. The inside boat can avoid problems by luffing before the zone but once rule 18 applies, she might have problems with 18.4, or else a protest committee might conclude that it did not apply. Edited by Brass - 22 Feb 17 at 7:50am |
|||
![]() |
|||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
I would say they would need to luff before the zone (if they were allowed to do so, depending on how the overlap was established).
Or make their intentions known early to allow the outside boat to either give them space to do so and duck behind of they slow down, let the outside boat go. To get to the mark and want room to tack when it would be a gybe mark because you don't think you can make it is a bit off. At the end of the day avoiding contact is paramount, give the room and protest later.
|
|||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|||
![]() |
|||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
That the inside boat doesn't have the right to claim mark room then proceed to wear round when the 'proper course' is to gybe. If they rely on being leeward boat they can luff but not tack so can't wear round that way either.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
davidyacht ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1345 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
A couple of thoughts;
There is mention of luffing early, my experience of wearing round is that you don't want to head upwind anymore than you have to since this makes for a more extreme bear off to clear the mark and the capsized gybers ... which invariably leads to a death roll. I am pretty sure that more often than not your wear round tack will take you out of three boatlengths it you want to stand any chance of surviving the bear off, so my guess is that the gybers will be entitled to and gain mark room, if they want it. In practice in these situations your priority is survival and the rules come second (sorry Brass), last time this happened to me was on a reach to reach gybe in a shallow channel and the leader and myself exchanged glances ... and wore around, third place man gybed inside and won the race ... which he deserved for holding his nerve! |
|||
Happily living in the past
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Not sure what 'conclusion' you are talking about. If it was that, if you were B you should do absolutely anything you can to avoid a crash, I couldn't agree more. I agree that separating and getting some freedom of action early would be a really good idea. Maybe with spin boats, A is going to drop her kite early (which will give B a clue), which will let her go down-speed, and B will then be able to accelerate ahead and gybe across, but if it's a port rounding leeward mark and boats are originally coming in on starboard, that's going to put B on the wrong side of a port starboard cross. If they're mono sail boats, then it's going to be really difficult to get speed differential, or even to guess what's going through A's mind. I agree that it's a bit rich for A to expect B to spoil her race because of A's boat handling limitations, but OTOH, if A came up early, well before the mark to avoid rule 18.4, then she's doing nothing more than what the rules permit her to do.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
crakkers ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Mar 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 4 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Hello,
This has really provoked some thought. This all came about a couple of weeks ago when several of us were wondering if it was too windy for us to race. I said that I might be tacking at some of the gybe marks to stay upright. One wag then said, "so long as you are not inside of me" "Why, surely if I am inside boat and I hail my intentions, it's up to you to keep clear?" Needless to say the situation never happened, but I can see it will one day! Keep posting! Thanks,!
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
So, while my reasoning was incorrect my conclusion was not? Just asking as I would have gone with it if I was in that situation (except, assuming no other boats too close, I think I would actually, as the outside boat B, have sailed high enough to gybe and either try to cross astern of the inside boat A or at least be out of the way). Edit :- the op doesn't say if he was inside boat or outside boat but, I think, if I didn't feel myself capable of making the gybe in the conditions I would certainly not expect an outside boat to give me enough room to wear round so I'd try to get to the outside out of everybody's way.
Edited by Sam.Spoons - 21 Feb 17 at 10:47am |
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Rule 18.4 says If A believes that, in the existing conditions, the seamanlike course is not to gybe but to tack, then she could argue that that no point exists where she 'must gybe to sail her proper course', because her proper course is to tack, not to gybe and that therefore rule 18.4 does not apply to her at all. On the other hand, we would usually say that the very point of rule 18.4 is to stop an inside leeward boat from dialling up the outside boat. I agree that, to be safe (from a rules point of view, and probably from a seamanship point of view as well, A would be well advised to start her luff before she reached the zone and became bound by rule 18.4.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
GML ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 24 Jul 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 94 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Interested in your views on whether and how 18.4 applies in this scenario Brass.
18.4 says "When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark to
sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from
the mark than needed to sail that course. Rule 18.4 does not apply at
a gate mark." I think we are agreed that in the scenario described the inside overlapped boat has right-of-way, and is going to need to change tack, either by gybing or wearing round, in order to sail to the next mark. Let's also assume that this isn't a gate mark. Do you think it is open to her to argue that her proper course is to wear round rather than to gybe, and hence that 18.4 does not apply to her? If yes, then I would tend to agree with you that as RoW boat she can luff up to head to wind provided that she complies with 16.1. But if not, until she gybes (which she isn't going to do!) she is required to sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail her proper course to gybe at the mark (even though she doesn't consider that to be her proper course). I suppose she might be able to wear round without sailing farther from the mark than that proper course, but in practice I doubt this would be possible, in which case isn't she going to break 18.4? That said, the outside windward boat is still going to have to keep clear (rule 11) and so is still stuffed!
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
B doesn't need to 'know what A wants to do'. All B needs to do, as the give way boat is to keep clear of A. From B's point of view it makes no difference if A luffs up with the intention of tacking or unintentionally rounds up (slowly).
|
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |