Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Leeward Mark |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Author | |||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 21 Feb 17 at 9:32am |
||
I think there's a specific confusion about right of way in the OP.
These days right of way is a specific thing covered by rules Rules 10 to 13. The later rules then put restrictions on what the ROW boat can do. In the original post we don't absolutely know which boat has right of way, but its a pretty safe guess that if its a gybe mark then the boats are on the same tack, the one on the outside is windward boat, so the boat on the inside is leeward boat and has ROW. This doesn't change until they change tack. An entitlement to mark room does not give right of way. It means that even if the other boat has ROW it is limited in what it can do because it must give room. In this case it all follows as Brass says. Inside may luff up but not tack, and may not sail beyond the mark without gybing. So if A wants to go beyond the mark and tack round she needs to plan early, slow down and let B go ahead. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
If they carry straight on, screaming in fear, you'll know! Trouble is, if you slow down, you'll go splat on the gybe, too.
|
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
I stand corrected. But, in the second part of your answer you say "A is not entitled to room to tack." which is basically what I said (accepting that my reasoning may have been flawed)?
Agreed that slowing dow might be difficult so would need to be done early. Also I'd still like to know how B knows that A wants to wear round? The assumption would be that A would gybe at a gybe mark even if it's blowing a hoolie.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Sorry, as a general statement this is plain wrong. A boat may have right of way as well as mark room, in which case she is fully entitled to make a 'tactical' rounding, such as in wide out tight.. In the OP scenario, it's a mark at which both boats need to gybe, so boats will be on the same tack, and the boat clear ahead or overlapped inside at the zone will be to leeward, and both right of way (rule 11), and entitled to mark room (rule 18.2( b )). If this boat (A) wants to tack and granny instead of gybing around the mark, the other boat to windward of her (B) will need to keep clear of her as she luffs up preparatory to tacking, all the way until A passes head to wind. At some time during A's luff, she will cease to be sailing towards the mark, and thus cease to be sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, and so will lose any exoneration she might have had under rule 21 if she luffs too fast and fails to give B room to keep clear. When A passes head to wind:
Going back to the situation before A starts changing course. A is right of way boat entitled to mark-room: she is entitled to gybe without any restrictions, ifs or buts. In fact she is required to gybe when she gets to to the point where she may sail further from the Definition: Mark" data-url="/definitions/42?xformat=fleet" style="box-sizing: border-box; background-image: radial-gradient(yellow, white, white); background-position: initial; background-size: initial; background-repeat: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-style: italic;">mark than needed to sail her proper course (rule 18.4). But I think you are talking about room for A to tack and granny. Mark-room does not include room to tack unless the entitled boat is overlapped to windward (Definition: mark-room). This doesn't apply to A in this case. A has no entitlement to room to tack, but as previously explained, she does have right of way, entitling her to luff up all the way to head to wind. Whether it is seamanlike or prudent or practicable to gybe won't enter into the case. A is not entitled to room to tack. When A does tack (pass head to wind) she ceases to be right of way boat and ceases to be entitled to mark-room.
Agree that if B is happy to gybe, gybing inside A, while A tacks is advantageous, but it's going to be difficult to slow down and get astern of A once both boats are overlapped hooting downwind. Edited by Brass - 21 Feb 17 at 10:01am |
|||
![]() |
|||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Boats with rights to mark room are only entitled to enough to perform "a seamanlike rounding" not a tactical rounding. I'd say he is only entitled to room to gybe on the basis that if it's not too windy to race it's not to windy for a competent crew to gybe. Pragmatically, if he's going to chuck it in right across your bow I'd give him all the room he needs, even slowing down to let him pass you before you gybe. How do you know he wants to wear round?
|
|||
![]() |
|||
crakkers ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Mar 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 4 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
very windy,
Boats flying down to leeward mark Mark is a gybe mark! Inside boat wants to tack round due to fear of capsize Outside boats want to gybe. Who has right of way? |
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |