New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Rule 17 situation
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Rule 17 situation

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Author
rb_stretch View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 23 Aug 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 742
Post Options Post Options   Quote rb_stretch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rule 17 situation
    Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 7:05pm
Just curious of other peoples thoughts on a situation that I was in today. Basically slightly faster boat (assymmetric) trying to overtake me (two sail non-assymmetric) on a broad reach. I was defending windward side, so after a couple of attempts they bore off a bit to leeward to pass within two boat lengths. As soon as they had overlap they then headed up calling proper course for an assymmetric, which was indeed higher than we were going.

The question is really around whether a boat can change it's proper course ie. if it was sailing a proper course deep before the overlap, can they then change it the moment overlap is established. I think they probably were in the right, but interested in other views.

This means I need to alter my reaching defense strategy which is to encourage them to get windward overlap and then call them up until their spinnaker collapses (obviously giving them time to manoevre). This scenario seems far more likely to end in trouble, but if that is the only way to defend then that is what I need to do. Any other thoughts on proper way to defend a slightly faster spinnaker flying asymmetric boat from a symmetric boat on a reach?
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 7:19pm
Seems reasonable rule wise. Andy & Jo was it?

An interesting one because the two boats are near enough level rating, but you're quicker upwind and they're quicker downwind, so you are probably racing for a place if you can keep them behind as its normally a downwind finish.



Back to Top
rb_stretch View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 23 Aug 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 742
Post Options Post Options   Quote rb_stretch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 7:25pm
Originally posted by JimC

Seems reasonable rule wise. Andy & Jo was it?

An interesting one because the two boats are near enough level rating, but you're quicker upwind and they're quicker downwind, so you are probably racing for a place if you can keep them behind as its normally a downwind finish.





Indeed, in actual fact I think what happened was they got a gust which allowed them to accelerate and bear away (not the Albacore's strongest point), but on hitting our wind shadow they probably needed to sail higher again, hence the situation. It was a very broach reach so we were heading for the mark throughout the manoeuvre.

And you are right that downwind if we can hold someone behind, we do and have held places, hence the interest in defending well within the rules.


Edited by rb_stretch - 21 Dec 14 at 7:29pm
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 8:11pm
If they hit the wind shadow, then they are slowed because you are there, and have no right to sail higher, as far as I'm concerned.

Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 9:40pm
Originally posted by Rupert

If they hit the wind shadow, then they are slowed because you are there, and have no right to sail higher, as far as I'm concerned.

Ditto Rupert.
There is a previous thread, first posted 30/11/13 titled 'PROPER COURSE'.
The crucial issue identified, was the wind shadow effect, which does not translate to an entitlement for the leeward boat to luff up.
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 9:42pm
Nothing to stop the asymettric boat sailing below their normal course to gain an overlap and then coming back up to it though.



Here's how I see it... Black line being the two sail boat, ignoring the luffing match before hand.
Blue.
Blue boat was sailing hotter angles before the boats meet, continues sailing hotter angles afterwards. Legitimate, and the common situation.

Green Line
Green boat was sailing on rhumb line before the boats met, and once she gained an overlap sailed on the new rhumb line, which was higher than the old one. I'd say legitimate. Green is on a proper course for the mark. The fact that she was sailing below a proper course for a while doesn't matter, there is no obligation to sail a proper course.
Red Line
The red boat was sailing on the rhumb line, went deep then pointed up when they gained the overlap but went back to the original rhumb line when clear ahead with clear air. Not legitimate. Sailed above her proper course for the mark whilst overlapped.



Edited by JimC - 21 Dec 14 at 11:13pm
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 11:05pm
Originally posted by Andymac

Originally posted by Rupert

If they hit the wind shadow, then they are slowed because you are there, and have no right to sail higher, as far as I'm concerned.

Ditto Rupert.
There is a previous thread, first posted 30/11/13 titled 'PROPER COURSE'.
The crucial issue identified, was the wind shadow effect, which does not translate to an entitlement for the leeward boat to luff up.

I am still not convinced on the wind shadow point.  And won't be until I see some Case Law that shows that:

Proper Course A course a boat would sail to finish as soon as possible in
the absence of the other boats referred to in the rule using the term.

Also extends to the effects generated by the other boat.

Here though I think that if the boat coming from clear astern has dived to leeward because of the luffing of the windward boat, and then returns to a course approximating to that which he was sailing before then this is proper course territory.
Back to Top
rb_stretch View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 23 Aug 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 742
Post Options Post Options   Quote rb_stretch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 11:14pm
Sounds like this is not entirely clear from the last two answers.


Reading the aforementioned thread it seems that if the asymmetric boat had gone into my wind shadow then they have no right to call me up. However if they call me up as soon as they get overlap ie. not yet in the wind shadow, then they can call me up. That's a difficult call to make on a course with a very gusty wind and therefore the asymmetrics are up and down many times on a leg.

Seems the only course of action is to defend to leeward using rule 12, forcing the asymmetric boat to windward where you can luff them using rule 11. That should be interesting with the bowsprit waving around your stern.


Back to Top
rb_stretch View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 23 Aug 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 742
Post Options Post Options   Quote rb_stretch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 11:21pm
Originally posted by sargesail



Here though I think that if the boat coming from clear astern has dived to leeward because of the luffing of the windward boat, and then returns to a course approximating to that which he was sailing before then this is proper course territory.


What I think they were doing was to soak down in the gust and then come above the direct course to really heat up the boat to punch through the wind shadow - in effect they would not have to do it if another boat wasn't there.


Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 14 at 11:24pm
Originally posted by rb_stretch

Sounds like this is not entirely clear from the last two answers.


Reading the aforementioned thread it seems that if the asymmetric boat had gone into my wind shadow then they have no right to call me up. However if they call me up as soon as they get overlap ie. not yet in the wind shadow, then they can call me up. That's a difficult call to make on a course with a very gusty wind and therefore the asymmetrics are up and down many times on a leg.

Seems the only course of action is to defend to leeward using rule 12, forcing the asymmetric boat to windward where you can luff them using rule 11. That should be interesting with the bowsprit waving around your stern.



And that's a neat illustration of why the wind shadow thing is silly.  The now overlapped leeward boat that has chosen to go below can return to a proper course at any stage.  It could certainly (if nothing else has changed) sail as high as it was before bearing away to go below windward.

The only debate could be around whether that proper course could be higher in the lighter breeze caused by your windshadow.  But how could it actually know whether it was in windshadow or whether the wind had just dropped.

I'll agree that the case at Protest is easier if it can argue that it hardened up before reaching the windsahdow.....but that's not quite the same thing.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy