Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
NoR v SIs |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123 |
Author | |||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 11 Dec 14 at 8:37am |
||||
I'm sure such things happen with a fair amount of regularity in club racing - we have a rule which says that if there is a difference betwen what is on the board and what is on the start hut, the start hut is correct. However, in reality it is usually the start hut that is wrong, with transposed ports and starboards for the mark boards (well, you are looking at them backwards!). At the point where we all reach a mark and half go one way and half the other (sometimes it isn't totally obvious which way it ought to be on an odd shaped lake), it is certainly the RO who gets the flack, not other competitors, and I'd find it very unfair if it was the competitors who suffered for the RO's mistake. I make it sound like it happens a lot - it doesn't really! We just have a very confused conversation and try and get it right the next lap.
|
|||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Medway Maniac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 13 May 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2788 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
An ironic post-script to my story is that the guy responsible for amending the course between NOR and SI's lost the lead of his class when he forgot, passed the wrong side of the buoy in question and had to go back, hoist by his own petard!
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Then surely you would not have protested? I did try to make that point in my post.
It's highly analogous in principle, and thank you for pointing to Case 45 which I couldn't find the other night. HOWEVER, that's all very well for a request for redress, as a result of which no boat may be penalised. Different story is a boat that initiates action as a protest against another boat for breaking rule 28. In that case the protest committee must hear the protest and decide whether or not any party broke a rule and if so, disqualify the boat unless some other penalty applies (rule 64.1). Then, if the protest committee thinks that the conditions of rule 62.1 apply to a boat that has been disqualified, then they should give redress. It's reasonable to assume that a boat that protests another boat wants them disqualified: that's why you protest.
Edited by Brass - 11 Dec 14 at 9:33am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Medway Maniac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 13 May 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2788 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
True, Brass, I probably wouldn't have protested, but someone else might, leading to the same result.
In the case of the course setter, though, I'd certainly have reminded him of the course... just after he'd passed the buoy! |
|||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |