Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
When all boats retire. |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 456 |
Author | |
Blue One ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 09 Nov 13 Online Status: Offline Posts: 317 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 09 Feb 14 at 3:13pm |
Both would score retired 3 at our club.
|
|
![]() |
|
JohnW ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 Jul 07 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 552 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
In today's race two boats started the race.
Boat A capsized and retired, and came ashore. Boat B continued. On the last but one leg of the course boat B capsized got its mast stuck in the mud and required assistance from a rescue launch to recover. After recovery, boat B continued sailing (presumably to drain the water) and in doing so completed the course and crossed the finish line. She retired from the race due to receiving assistance from the rescue boat (rule 41). So how should the race be scored? It seems to depends on whether she was deemed to have finished or not. Rule 35 The race committee shall score a race or series as provided in Appendix A using the Low Point System, unless the sailing instructions specify some other system. A race shall be scored if it is not abandoned and if one boat sails the course in compliance with rule 28 and finishes within the time limit, if any, even if she retires after finishing or is disqualified. Rule 90.3a says: The race committee shall score a race or series as provided in Appendix A using the Low Point System, unless the sailing instructions specify some other system. A race shall be scored if it is not abandoned and if one boat sails the course in compliance with rule 28 and finishes within the time limit, if any, even if she retires after finishing or is disqualified. Definition of finishing: Finish A boat finishes when any part of her hull, or crew or equipment in normal position, crosses the finishing line from the course side. However, she has not finished if after crossing the finishing line she (a) takes a penalty under rule 44.2, (b) corrects an error under rule 28.2 made at the line, or (c) continues to sail the course. As Boat B crossed the finish line from the course side, is she still deemed to have finished even though she accepted outside assistance earlier? If so then Boats A & B would both score RTD (3 points). If she didn't finish then the race would be abandoned. There is little difference from the point of view of the race, but it could affect the overall series result. |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 456 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |