New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Leeward Mark
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Leeward Mark

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
giraffe View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 10 May 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 148
Post Options Post Options   Quote giraffe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Leeward Mark
    Posted: 16 Dec 13 at 9:36pm
port
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Dec 13 at 9:28pm
Port or Starboard rounding?
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
giraffe View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 10 May 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 148
Post Options Post Options   Quote giraffe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Dec 13 at 9:01pm
Question from the weekend, when in a handicap race I met a boat with an asymmetric spinnaker at a leeward mark. I don’t normally sail in fleets with boats rigged like these so now find myself a little confused.

Approaching a leeward mark to be rounded to port. I am on port gybe, goosewinged, inside overlapped both on a group of boats sailing a similar angle on the same gybe and also some boats sailing hot angles on the same gybe. There is decent separation between us.

Another boat is sailing a hot angle on a converging course on starboard. I can luff and go around his transom. Other boats on port will also have to alter course

I alter course to pass behind him.

As we cross paths – both planing at the time – he bears away hard in my wind shadow and then gybes and drops his kite during the drop. I immediately become windward boat, but we are now closing on the leeward mark and I want room to round. Clearly 10 and 11 have made me the keep clear boat until 18 takes over.

The questions are:

1.     If the other boat gybed within 3 lengths of the leeward mark do I have any rights?

2.     If the other boat has not yet made 3 lengths when I become overlapped on him do I have rights?

3.     How does the benefit of the doubt work here? Due to the angles we were sailing the other boat only became closest to the buoy just before I rounded behind it.

I am pretty clear that initially it was port starboard and I clearly had to keep clear.

In the process of keeping clear I then become overlapped as he gybed. I don’t really have a view on how many lengths away we were as my eyes were focused on the initial keep clear.

I am assuming now that if they are within 3 lengths then I should anticipate a gybe as part of rounding the mark, but if we are not yet at 3 boat lengths then I need not.

I guess this is pretty normal for those of you who sail asymmetrics and probably explains why asymmetric rigged boats frequently prefer a course with two leeward marks. I am also confused from watching the AC72s – I know they buggered around with the rules for these boats.

Help please
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy