Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Proper Course |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 23456> |
Author | ||||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 04 Dec 13 at 10:06am |
|||||
A club or class can always use the RYA rules advisory service.
http://www.rya.org.uk/racing/racingrules/Pages/advisoryservice.aspx It would probably be best to have something put together that covers the situation in detail. However I'd be embarrassed to have that question emanating from my club! |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
If you strip out a lot of the chaff it is a simple windward/leeward situation. The Windward boat is the keep clear boat. We all accept that as leeward establish the overlap from astern that leewards actions are restricted to not going above their proper course if/when they luff whilst the 2 boats are overlapped. If windward bore away in to you all you need to do is call protest. You are not required to take avoiding action until it is clear they are going to break a rule. If they try this kind of bullying tactic regularly then perhaps they really need a rule 2 protest against them?
Edited by jeffers - 04 Dec 13 at 11:20am |
||||||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Like I said I really don't want to re-hear the protest on here. But that was the entire basis of my protest, and there was contact - their boom nearly swept some of our crew out the boat. Not a persistent offender, new boat to the fleet and I took the situation to be a fairly new sailor who'd got the wrong end of the stick regarding 11 and 17. Protest ended with them getting a lecture on the relationship between 11 and 17 from the committee, so I'm very happy that I understand the rules as they applied. I ONLY brought it up with regard to the effect of a wind shadow on the proper course of the leeward boat, and I'm now wishing I hadn't.
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
That is immaterial as proper course is in the absence of other boats. The counter argument would be that the change of course would not have been required had the other boat not been there.
|
||||||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
This is the debate though - I would argue that it's perfectly possible to read the definition of proper course to include the wind shadow effects. Imagine a boat with an autopilot set such that it always steers the best course by its polars. You would agree that in open water this boat is always steering its proper course. But if this boat overtakes another boat to leeward the clever autopilot, which knows nothing of the existence of the other boat, will heat up when the blanketing effect hits. I would argue that it's still sailing it's proper course as it's still just trying to sail to polars with respect to the wind hitting the boat, it hasn't altered course for a tactical reason.
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Proper course when racing is clearly defined in the rules, as there was another boat here and there was a wind shadow effect steering to mitigate that effect was not the boat sailing their proper course (IMO):
Rule 17 states:
It is pretty clear cut. Obviously if you were both sailing below your proper course then you can legitimately luff the windward boat up to your proper course. If they do not keep clear as required then you can protest them. See: http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/ISAFRRS20132016Final-[13376].pdf top of page 9.
Edited by jeffers - 04 Dec 13 at 12:42pm |
||||||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Agree with all that. Except that when VMG sailing downwind my proper (best VMG) course changes when the wind drops, which it will do in a wind shadow. To me, that's not the other boat affecting my course, but a change in pressure. I've certainly always expected boats to come up when the sail into my lee and their kite collapses, this used to be very common back in the days before the 109s go their own start.
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
It's only clear cut if you take the boat to include it's wind shadow - that's a big step. I think Flaming's autopilot example is a very good one.
Brass has come in with a strong view from a point of strength given his Rules background. I'd like to see something concrete. Jim C thinks it would be embarassing to ask - given the debate here and the lack of a Case law to support interpretation I don't see why....
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
I can't see any scope whatsoever to disagree with JimC and Jeffers: 'in the absence of other boats' means 'in the absence of other boats'. You don't need and Appeal or a Case to tell you that. The language is clear and unambiguous.
The rules aren't restricted in that way at all. As the Americans say 'don't put things into the rules that aren't there' If you want to have a useful discussion about the rules, please try to use the language of the rules, not some paraphrase of your own. There's nothing in rule 17 about 'the other boat affecting you' or 'altering course'.
The rules aren't necessarily written to be easy to umpire. That's what we have Calls for. I agree it may be difficult for crews to differentiate on the water, but it is not unreasonable to expect crews to be aware of where the wind shadow of the windward boat is or will be, and there may be a risk - reward decision to be made in responding to a drop in apparent wind in the wind shadow area. If the windward boat doesn't hot up, then that would be a pretty good indication that the prevailing breeze had not dropped. Bear in mind that, as I emphasised before, if this comes to a protest much will depend on the evidence of the two boats, but protest committees will often give the benefit of the doubt to the leeward boat, if she comes up with a plausible explanation of why her course was her proper course.
Sorry, absolutely NOT. A boat's proper course is what the Definition says it is A
course a boat would sail to finish as soon as possible in the absence of the
other boats referred to in the rule using the term.
I would argue that it's still sailing it's proper course as
it's still just trying to sail to polars with respect to the wind hitting the
boat, it hasn't altered course for a tactical reason. Then you would deserve to lose your argument. There's not the slightest suggestion of 'tactical reasons' in rule 17. |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Tactical reasons as in "reasons you might want to break 17 if it did not exist".
But my boat with its autopilot is still sailing the course it would take to get to finish fastest in the absence of other boats. It only isn't if you take the wind shadow to be part of the other boat. Which is a new definition on me. I don't see anything in the rules that defines a boat to include her wind shadow. Quite happy to be corrected (however condescendingly) but I don't see anything definitive in the rules to support your position at the moment. |
||||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 23456> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |