Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Extreme 40 crash decision |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 6789> |
Author | |||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 26 Sep 11 at 4:47pm |
||
If you tack onto starboard right in front of someone, then surely the onus is on you to ensure there is no collision? The boat behind doesn't know you are going to tack, and even if you tell them, they don't have to start avoiding you till the tack is completed. That is all pretty straight forward. I'm pretty sure thinking time is allowed for in all this, which, at the speed these boats are going at, is rather further than it is in my Lightning.
As far as I can see, if you tacked so close that a rushed crap bearaway is enough to make the difference between colliding and not, then you've tacked too close.
|
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Why? they have completed their tack; are now on Stbd and thus R needs to avoid the Stbd boat; once A has completed her tack, R becomes burdended...... |
|||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
According to the beginning of this thread, R had started avoiding action before A had completed her tack, so whether the bearaway was crap or not, A had tacked too close.
|
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Scooby Simon- the days are long gone when a collision was needed to prove that a rule had been broken. Once A passed beyong head to wind she was required to sail in such a way that R had noneed to take avoiding action. Once R needed to take avoiding action A had broken rule 13.
Once A had reached a close hauled course she became ROW boat and was required to give R the space needed, in the existing conditions, to manoeuvre promptly in a seamanlike way so that A would not need to take avoiding action. At that moment (not before) A did not meet this requirement. A broke rule 15. In both these instances A is DSQ, even if there was no contact. If you want a simple guideline - if you oblige another boat to do an emergency manouevre to avoid you, you have almost certainly broken a rule. The only debate is whether R could have done more to to avoid a collision. Having initially borne away when A broke rule 13, it is questionable whether any seamanlike manoeuvre could have avoided contact when A broke rule 15. Gordon |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
|||
craiggo ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1810 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Gordon,
You are of course right, A should be disqualified, but surely so should R. While R attempted to avoid the collision they chose the wrong way to avoid it and as a result a collision occured. The argument is therefore, did R do all that was possible to avoid the collision. I would argue Scooby-simons point that, they had opportunity to avoid by 1. tacking or 2. bearing away by blowing the main and leaving the jib on. In bearing away in the way they did, they put themselves into the position of causing te crash and therefore should also be scored as DSQ. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Andymac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Apr 07 Location: Derbyshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 852 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
I would guess that having made the initial bearaway, R was preparing to duck A's stern and then tack immediately. The second attempt to bearaway by R's helmsman was under far greater pressure and a split second decision (which was the opposite action to which the trimmers were geared up to do). This was done without the coordinated effort of the trimmers. Can anyone really blame R for a less than perfect manouvere in such a circumstance. Can anyone here claim to never making a mistake in a high pressure situation? I somehow doubt it. On that basis I suggest that R's second (attempt) bearaway when it became clear that A had stalled was reasonable. The term 'reasonable' is an entirely subjective matter, and one I feel we will never all agree on. Unless anyone is suggesting that R deliberately caused an avoidable crash, I can't see any more mileage in criticising R's actions.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
I agree with andymac
Gordon |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Here's another jury decision about right of way and rule 14.
The moral is, if you are keep clear boat, you must keep clear and not expect rule 14 to save you from your own mistakes.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
I have not read through this thread completely nor watch the video but if A was ROW boat and decided to tack then rule 16.2 applies (Right of way boat changing course must ensure a keep clear boat does not have to alter course if they were already keeping clear).
I believe the rules also state that you are not required to anticiapte that another boat is going to break the rules until it is clear that they are, in this case it would appear it was too late for sufficient avoiding action to be taken. As has been pointed out a similar situation occured later on in the racing and different action was taken and no collision occured.
|
|||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Jeffers,
A was only clear ahead ROW boat until she passed beyond head to wind. Until she did so she was subject to rule 16.ONE, in that for any change of course she must give R room to keep clear. Once A passed beyond head to wind she became a keep clear boat (rule 13) Rule 16.2 only applies to boats on opposite tacks when the port tack boat is keeping clear by passing astern. In this incident once a passed beyond head to wind until she reached a close hauled course she was keep clear boat (rule 13). As ROW boat R had no obligation to keep clear of A so 16.2 does not apply. Once A reaches a close hauled course she acquires right of way but must give room to R to keep clear (rule 15). Only when A has given room, and only if: - R was then keeping clear by passing astern of A; and; - A subsequently changed course would rule 16.2 apply. Gordon |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 6789> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |