Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
case 7 |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
asterix ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 9:15am |
Perhaps I am being thick but can someone explain why rule 18 is (apparently) not relevant and not even discussed in ISAF Case 07 http://game.finckh.net/reg_gbr/cases/case07.htm |
|
![]() |
|
jlecou ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Dec 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 30 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Surely rule 18 only applies when one boat is in the zone - which presumably back then (1963?) was 2 boat lengths. The collision ocurred at 20m out which I imagine was more than 2 boat lengths?
|
|
RS400 880 : Laser 203302 : King George SC
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The cases are rewritten (or removed as appropriate) when the rules change, which is why you should never rely on an out of date case book. |
|
![]() |
|
asterix ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
eek - I thought it had been updated. I will check. thanks |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
![]() |
|
asterix ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
actually the I think the case is up to date - it appears in the 2010 case book and hasn't been amended as far as I can see. It simply fails to specify where the boats are in relation to the zone (and how big the boats are). A 20 m distance to the mark would be in the zone for boats of 7m and the result (I presume) would be that W was owed mark room and L failed to give it
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
As far as the case is concerned I think you can assume the boats aren't in the zone and mark room doesn't apply. After all they don't list all the other rules that don't apply either!
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If the facts do not mention the zone you can assume that it is not relevant to the case. It was not found as a fact that either boat was in the zone.
By the way - the zone is defined by hull lengths, not boat lengths. Bow sprits, bumkins and other antennae do not count! Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |