Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234 8> |
Author | |||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 01 Jul 10 at 1:46pm |
||
'cos the definition says room to sail [directly] to the mark, room to sail proper course at the mark, but nothing once the boat is past the mark. Once you are past the mark its back to normal RRS. After all, why would you need mark room past the mark? The point of it is to enable you to get there...
For sure, but if Y doesn't need the room as late arriver passes the mark then they can cut the corner. But as the case says its at their own risk: if they obstruct Y in any way whatsoever they have to take the appropriate penalty. I still have happy memories of nipping inside a huge raft of virtually stationary boats at Weston one time with no rights whatsoever, happilly agreeing with the complaints that yes, we have no rights at all, but as we're not impeding you in any way we haven't broken any rules. Edited by JimC |
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Case 63? Won't a late arriving port tacker have been Outside boat when Y first reached the zone and thus owe Y mark-room? Why do you say that a boat loses an entitlement to mark-room to sail to the mark when she has passed the mark (provided she is still in tha zone)? Edited by Brass |
|||
![]() |
|||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Another difficulty in defining terms which are unclear.
18.4 states she "shall not sail farther from the mark than needed to sail the course" The cases and explanations in older rules were that this meant going long out to leeward of a mark, still in the zone. I like brass's diagram and would be happy to not protest an assy' sailing these angles in front of me in light winds when the seamanlike way to keep sailing would be to do these angles with the kite up as long as possible. Notions of hardening up this "narrow corridor" as law based on case 75, the only place it appears in a discussion of a ruling 2009-12, should be balanced with percieved wisdom of "proper course". In a more usual say RS400 race in light airs, the situation Brass shows mixed with the ruling of 75 would be a reasonable interpreation of the situation and "from the mark" |
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Brass:
The rules give to the boat approaching on starboard, and inside or clear ahead at the zone: - an entitlement to mark room, that is an entitlement to sail directly to the mark along a narrow corridor. This entitlement would be available even if the boat was not a right of way boat. This entitlement remains until the boat has passed the mark; - right of way over any boats on port, overlapped to windward or clear astern. This ROW can be lost during the mark rounding. In this case, Yellow may have right of way by virtue of being on starboard, overlapped to leeward or clear ahead. Port tack boats will have to keep clear whilst she is on starboard. If she has a boat overlapped on the outside to windward (boats on port will be overlapped) she is obliged, by rule 18.4, to sail no further than her proper course (the port lay line) before gybing. Naturally rules 15, 16 and 17 may apply, and restrict her course If, after gybing, Yellow ceases to be ROW, there may be a boat overlapped to leeward, then she is obliged from that position to sail directly to the mark. The corridor is only defined when Yellow loses ROW. However, I would suggest that Yellow reads Case 25 attentively. When room is made available at a mark to a boat not entitled to it, she may, at her own risk' take advatage of the room. Yellow is vulnerable to a boat arriving fast on port, passing astern of her as Yellow gybes and rounding the mark with speed! Gordon |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Gordon, Notwithstanding the words in Case 75, I would suggest that for a stbd tack, mark-room entitled boat whose proper course is to sail hot, as shown in the attached diagram, her 'corridor' _to_ the mark is the Arrow on the course from the point where, under rule 18.4 she is obliged to gybe (or wherever she actually gybes before that). Surely the rules can't mean that a boat in this situation may sail to her rule 18.4 port tack layline, then, on gybing, instantly be three boatlengths away from her 'course to the mark'? Your thoughts? Edited by Brass |
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
1. ISAF Case Book is authoritative- see page 5 of Case Book
2. The "narrow corridor" - the space a boat needs to sail directly, while manoeuvering promptly in a seamanlike fashion from point of entry to a position close to and alongside the mark 3 In case 75 S does not sail any further from mark than her proper course 4 If you are implying that many boats regularily break the rules when doing normal accepted sailing, regrettably I would have to concur! Gordon |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
|||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
No ! The thread has always been about the use of rule 10 (and it's modifiers) and 18 in near to mark situations. Coming in as being tactically good against a string of port boats at the mark. There is a confusion possible on the water if a stb boat sails wide angles, but the case illustrates this well and the quite protracted protest notes show the subtlety "narrow corridor" is not described in the rule book and is an interpretation. In practice boats do not point their bow at the mark and perform a handbrake turn, they come in a little wide and go out tight out up on the wind from the LM. But if you follow Gordon's ruling then boats have to change habits : If this "narrow corridor" is applied in protest committees from "case law" then sailors who want to sail by good methods, are going to be arguing a lot more about r.18 and the definition of mark room. A simple extension of "proper course" as defined into "mark room" would allow for normal, accepted sailing at the LM, and what ever foiling moths generally do at the LM! What is the "narrow corridor" ? (less than 3 boat legnths? One boat legnth? The space needed to sail in a seamanlike way around a given type of mark-?) As in the case, if you come in on starboard you are within rule 18 as long as you don't sail out the zone and don't gybe too far deep of the mark. As long as you obey 16.1 as well (and 17 actually) you are quids in. The difference from the old rules is probably the exaggerration of the time in the zone now it is 3 boat lengths. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Strange how something that is usually straight forward on the water becomes difficult when being described. When running down to a mark, the outer (stb) boat will generally leave enough space for the inner (port) boat to make it round the mark, but not more. It really is human nature. Phrases like "you've plenty of room" will often be heard. I've not come across too many people who expect enough room in a situation like that to sail a supertanker through, but it does happen.
One other thing to be aware of in handicap racing is that the inside boat needs enough room to fit that sort of boat through, so a Wayfarer needs a Wayfarer sized hole, not a hole the Topper leaving the space might have needed... |
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
|||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
[sigh] No, they didn't. You still seem to be missing the difference between mark room and ROW. In case 75 the inside boat is the ROW boat and can sail where it likes. The crucial bit about that case for this discussion is that it confirms, in the language Gordon used, the narrow corridor straight to the mark. Edited by JimC |
|||
![]() |
|||
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
the protest committee sided with me.
That doesn't make them right any more than the collective view on this forum might be right (or wrong). So what we were the facts found in this case? |
|||
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234 8> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |