Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 23456 8> |
Author | |
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 29 Jun 10 at 10:35am |
There is an essential difference between the entitlement of a keep clear boat with mark room and a ROW boat with mark room
A keep clear boat entitled to mark room is most definetely NOT allowed to as so-called tactical rounding. Mark-room entitles a boat for room (as defined in the rules) to sail to the mark. This gives that boat a narrow straight corridor from the point of entry to the zone to a position alongside the mark at which it is seamanlike to change course to round the mark. The concept of proper course does not apply UNTIL the boat is at the mark. It is important to note that the definition of proper course is not the fastest course from the start to the finish, but the fastest course from where the boat is at any given moment to the finish. When a keep-clear boat is entitled to mark room she is NOT entitled to sail her proper course until she is at the mark. The situation is very different for a right of way boat entitled to mark room - they are allowed to sail their proper course to the mark, subject to the limits imposed by rules 15, 16, 17 and 18.4. A ROW boat may sail a tactical rounding. a boat can lose ROW during a rounding (by gybing on to port,overlapped to windward, for instance), and is then only entitled to mark room. Can't see how I can make this any clearer Gordon Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Sailing4Life ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Jun 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 38 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Relevant parts of Rule 18.2 states:
Giving Mark-Room (a) When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the inside boat mark-room, unless rule 18.2(b) applies. (b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. Ok so what else do we need to know, Mark Room: Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark- room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room. and the important piece in this is proper course, A course a boat would sail to finish as soon as possible in the absence of the other boats referred to in the rule using the term. So to help with deciding what a boats proper course is at a leeward mark where it might gybe the ISAF made 18.4 When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course. The way that I read all of this is, as a assy boat on stb, coming in hot, I can sail no further from the mark than to gybe round it and drop, I cannot sail well past it gybe drop and round once in the zone I must sail the fastest course (one I would sail to get to finish quickest) |
|
Rs600 + many others
|
|
![]() |
|
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Now Gordon- you have hung yourself on "sail straight to the mark" which is not what is stated explicitly or implicitly in the rules:
we can go back to the more usual situation in a symmetrical fleet, port rounding, all boats on port at the Leeward Mark (LM): This would mean that a boat clear ahead or with overlap inside, once in the zone would need to poke its bow right at the LM and not be allowed to go wide in, tight out as is seaman like. The strict definition is to sail no further than the proper course to round a mark once AT the mark. I for one would not protest an assy' boat coming in on starboard, with inside overlap, gybing infront of me as long as they don't go outside the 3 boat zone and do not sail further than the mark. |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Gordon means NO special exemption of course. Typo I expect. RS 400s and things sail dead downwind perfectly happily. They just don't do it particularly quickly. I agree, the meaning of the rules in question is straightforward enough, but if you struggle hard enough you can find a hidden meaning in anything. If you're Dan Brown you can even make a lot of money out of it. I can remember many years ago, being in a PC that was steadily misleading itself into a complete misinterpretation of a rule. Happily the offending party was much more sensible and retired before we could make complete idiots of ourselves! Edited by JimC |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I believe that the rules are both clearly expressed and well defined... if one reads what is written and takes the trouble to examine the definitions.,
There are a few subtleties - rule 18 does not give an inside boat right of way. Rather, the rule imposes an obligation on the outside boat (which may well be the right of way boat) to allow the inside boat to round the mark in a clearly defined way. My advice is stop looking for some obscure get out clause that is not in the rules. If you are only entitled to mark room you are ONLY entitled to sail straight to the mark. There is special exception for boats that are designed not to be able to sail straight downwind. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
That's right, and I was thinking quite wrong: it is 3 of her hull legnths as a circular zone around the mark you must not go outside, and once at the mark you must not sail longer into than you need to.
You could think of it as a truncated circle with the area beyond the gybe or lee mark being cut off due to 18.4 and the definition of "mark room" Anyway, if you come in on starboard in lightish winds, on the LHS of the Leeward mark, I reckon you can sail a hot angle on STB , gybe to windward of the mark in the 3 boats zone and sail TO the mark on a new reaching angle (while probably taking your kite down) I consider you have the luxury of doing this because 1. you have the port boats on 10 2. you have overlap on port boats on your beam and behind atleast 3. You then have "mark room" and can gybe by 18.4, taking no more room than required to sail that course 4. You are not sailing beyond your proper course before you are AT the mark ie at the point you should harden up at a LM. The crux of the interpretation is in "sail to the mark" ("mark room" definition) and "sail that course" 18.4 For an RS400 to "sail that course" in the abscence of other boats, it would be reasonable to sail hot angles and gybe near the mark to keep her speed: but here we lack " sail her proper course TO the mark" in the definition. It is therefore vague and I interpret it differently to Gordon. Whatdyyathink? |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hull length not boat length - bowsprits, for instance, don't count
Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Sailing4Life ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Jun 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 38 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I think you might have miss read your rule book, its not 3 boat length diameter its a 3 boat length radius from the mark.... meaning a 6 boat length diameter. |
|
Rs600 + many others
|
|
![]() |
|
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|
![]() |
|
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
here is my escape plan Jim C: probably happens at many RS400 or 200 events. You come in towards the zone on a assy' gybe angle typical for light winds on STB You pin out port boats at the zone and then continue on rule 10 with rule 18.1 also in hand, until you gybe BEFORE you are AT the mark or out the zone: you are allowed to gybe under 18.4 which resticts you to doing this in good time, not in angle of attach. The difference being now that 3 boat legnths is a bigger area to manoevre in than 2, giving you 1.5 boat lengths of radius each side of the mark, and a maximum cord of say 2 boat legnths. Thinking about it being so tight and r18.4 I don't see that you have to fall off before you gybe |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 23456 8> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |