New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 8>
Author
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark
    Posted: 25 Jun 10 at 5:20pm

Thanks Jim

I (as red) was forced to gybe and actually in doing so hit green albeit only gently (no damage).  It was not a major issue but I was left feeling that I was hard done by (excepting the collision)

Back to Top
damp_freddie View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 20 Oct 05
Location: Aruba
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 339
Post Options Post Options   Quote damp_freddie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 10 at 11:04pm
Originally posted by JimC

Well, no doubts under 18.2 that green is entitled to Mark room... So we go to the definition...
Mark-Room Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room.

All the way through green is entitled to mark room by that definition.
Whilst green was clear ahead she was right of way boat: R12
I reckon when green gybed onto port an overlap was created, and she ceased to become right of way boat and was required to keep clear of red (R16) but red wasn't required to give green room, (R15) since it was green's actions that gave red ROW. So once the boats were on opposite gybes red was ROW, and thus green was only entitled to room to sail to the mark. She's not yet at the mark - indeed sailing away from it - so I reckon proper course doesn't apply. Thus until red gybes I think green is sailing higher than entitled to. Once red gybes green becomes ROW again. What it would come down to, I suspect was whether the PC found that red could have given green mark room without gybing if green hadn't sailed so high when they were not ROW, but I'm no rules guru.


This is almost the situation I meant: But if green was on STB and red was on port, green overlapped b4 the 3 zone, then can green "sail" by filling her Assymetric and not drifting to the mark in  light winds?

Ie sail the kind of angles in the diagram, just initially ongreen boat STB-Port red ?
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 10 at 4:45am
Do you mean an exact mirror image with the mark rounding the other way or what?
Generally speaking if you are ROW boat you can sail where you like although there are exceptions and limitations.

Edited by JimC
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 10 at 10:00am
In the diagram:

- initially Green was clear ahead and Red was required to keep clear. Green could sail any course (subject to the limitations of rule 16)
- when Green gybes on to port the becomes the keep clear boat, but is entitled to mark room.
- Green does not sail directly to the mark and if Red was obliged to take action to avoid Green then Green broke rule 10 and should take a penalty.
- when Green gybes back, if she is still clear ahead Red must keep clear; If Green is overlapped to windward she is entitled to mark room to sail to the mark.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
damp_freddie View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 20 Oct 05
Location: Aruba
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 339
Post Options Post Options   Quote damp_freddie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 10 at 11:35pm
Originally posted by JimC

Do you mean an exact mirror image with the mark rounding the other way or what?
Generally speaking if you are ROW boat you can sail where you like although there are exceptions and limitations.


Not quite: they would be on port rounding coming in on opposite tacks.

The "restriction" is what Gordon is pointing out and I am poking at a get-out-of-jail-free-card for assy' or hot angles. Once you acquire rights you should sail to the mark and no further than your proper course..

In fact the card is there in the opposite tacks case on a port rounding: 18.4: on gybing she "shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course" : I would claim that an assymetric boat needs to sail a hot angle in light winds.

whatdyyathink gordie?

M'lawd the plaintiff rests.
Back to Top
damp_freddie View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 20 Oct 05
Location: Aruba
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 339
Post Options Post Options   Quote damp_freddie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 10 at 11:44pm
( my point being that the definition of mark room includes the bit about no farther: this means going no further PAST the mark than you need to. If gybing, once AT the mark you can't sail further, and of course you can't leave the three boat zone to gybe.)
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jun 10 at 4:33am
Originally posted by damp_freddie


I am poking at a get-out-of-jail-free-card for assy' or hot angles. Once you acquire rights you should sail to the mark and no further than your proper course


In vain I believe. The rule says you sail to the mark, and only at the mark get proper course. The rules are pretty consistent that whilst there are circumstances where the none ROW boat gets an allowance, they are almost always at a disadvantage compared to the ROW boat. If you don't want to get stuffed having to run dead downwind to the mark then don't arrive above the rhumb line.

In the diagram green should have sailed on a it further so they could gybe, reach to the mark and then gybe again at the mark. Of course green may well claim that's what they did...
Back to Top
damp_freddie View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 20 Oct 05
Location: Aruba
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 339
Post Options Post Options   Quote damp_freddie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jun 10 at 9:59pm

here is my escape plan Jim C: probably happens at many RS400 or 200 events.

You come in towards the zone on a assy' gybe angle typical for light winds on STB

You pin out port boats at the zone and then continue on rule 10 with rule 18.1 also in hand, until you gybe BEFORE you are AT the mark or out the zone: you are allowed to gybe under 18.4 which resticts you to doing this in good time, not in angle of attach.

The difference being now that 3 boat legnths is a bigger area to manoevre in than 2, giving you 1.5 boat lengths of radius each side of the mark, and a maximum cord of say 2 boat legnths.

Thinking about it being so tight and r18.4 I don't see that you have to fall off before you gybe

Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 10 at 1:54am

Originally posted by damp_freddie


here is my escape plan Jim C: probably happens at many RS400 or 200 events.

You come in towards the zone on a assy' gybe angle typical for light winds on STB

You pin out port boats at the zone and then continue on rule 10 with rule 18.1 also in hand, until you gybe BEFORE you are AT the mark or out the zone: you are allowed to gybe under 18.4 which resticts you to doing this in good time, not in angle of attach.

The difference being now that 3 boat legnths is a bigger area to manoevre in than 2, giving you 1.5 boat lengths of radius each side of the mark, and a maximum cord of say 2 boat legnths.

Thinking about it being so tight and r18.4 I don't see that you have to fall off before you gybe


Where are you getting 1.5 boat lengths radius from?

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
Sailing4Life View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jun 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 38
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sailing4Life Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 10 at 2:26am
Originally posted by damp_freddie

here is my escape plan Jim C:
probably happens at many RS400 or 200 events.You come in
towards the zone on a assy' gybe angle typical for light
winds on STBYou pin out port boats at the zone and then
continue on rule 10 with rule 18.1 also in hand, until
you gybe BEFORE you are AT the mark or out the zone: you
are allowed to gybe under 18.4 which resticts you to
doing this in good time, not in angle of attach.The
difference being now that 3 boat legnths is a bigger area
to manoevre in than 2, giving you 1.5 boat lengths of
radius each side of the mark, and a maximum cord of say 2
boat legnths.Thinking about it being so tight and r18.4 I
don't see that you have to fall off before you
gybe


I think you might have miss read your rule book, its not
3 boat length diameter its a 3 boat length radius from
the mark.... meaning a 6 boat length diameter.
Rs600 + many others
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 8>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy