Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 23456 8> |
Author | ||
asterix ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 25 Jun 10 at 5:20pm |
|
Thanks Jim I (as red) was forced to gybe and actually in doing so hit green albeit only gently (no damage). It was not a major issue but I was left feeling that I was hard done by (excepting the collision) |
||
![]() |
||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
This is almost the situation I meant: But if green was on STB and red was on port, green overlapped b4 the 3 zone, then can green "sail" by filling her Assymetric and not drifting to the mark in light winds? Ie sail the kind of angles in the diagram, just initially ongreen boat STB-Port red ? |
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Do you mean an exact mirror image with the mark rounding the other way or what?
Generally speaking if you are ROW boat you can sail where you like although there are exceptions and limitations. Edited by JimC |
||
![]() |
||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
In the diagram:
- initially Green was clear ahead and Red was required to keep clear. Green could sail any course (subject to the limitations of rule 16) - when Green gybes on to port the becomes the keep clear boat, but is entitled to mark room. - Green does not sail directly to the mark and if Red was obliged to take action to avoid Green then Green broke rule 10 and should take a penalty. - when Green gybes back, if she is still clear ahead Red must keep clear; If Green is overlapped to windward she is entitled to mark room to sail to the mark. Gordon |
||
Gordon
|
||
![]() |
||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Not quite: they would be on port rounding coming in on opposite tacks. The "restriction" is what Gordon is pointing out and I am poking at a get-out-of-jail-free-card for assy' or hot angles. Once you acquire rights you should sail to the mark and no further than your proper course.. In fact the card is there in the opposite tacks case on a port rounding: 18.4: on gybing she "shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course" : I would claim that an assymetric boat needs to sail a hot angle in light winds. whatdyyathink gordie? M'lawd the plaintiff rests. |
||
![]() |
||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
( my point being that the definition of mark room includes the bit about no farther: this means going no further PAST the mark than you need to. If gybing, once AT the mark you can't sail further, and of course you can't leave the three boat zone to gybe.)
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
In vain I believe. The rule says you sail to the mark, and only at the mark get proper course. The rules are pretty consistent that whilst there are circumstances where the none ROW boat gets an allowance, they are almost always at a disadvantage compared to the ROW boat. If you don't want to get stuffed having to run dead downwind to the mark then don't arrive above the rhumb line. In the diagram green should have sailed on a it further so they could gybe, reach to the mark and then gybe again at the mark. Of course green may well claim that's what they did... |
||
![]() |
||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
here is my escape plan Jim C: probably happens at many RS400 or 200 events. You come in towards the zone on a assy' gybe angle typical for light winds on STB You pin out port boats at the zone and then continue on rule 10 with rule 18.1 also in hand, until you gybe BEFORE you are AT the mark or out the zone: you are allowed to gybe under 18.4 which resticts you to doing this in good time, not in angle of attach. The difference being now that 3 boat legnths is a bigger area to manoevre in than 2, giving you 1.5 boat lengths of radius each side of the mark, and a maximum cord of say 2 boat legnths. Thinking about it being so tight and r18.4 I don't see that you have to fall off before you gybe |
||
![]() |
||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
Sailing4Life ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Jun 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 38 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I think you might have miss read your rule book, its not 3 boat length diameter its a 3 boat length radius from the mark.... meaning a 6 boat length diameter. |
||
Rs600 + many others
|
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 23456 8> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |