Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 34567 8> |
Author | ||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 27 Jun 10 at 4:33am |
|
In vain I believe. The rule says you sail to the mark, and only at the mark get proper course. The rules are pretty consistent that whilst there are circumstances where the none ROW boat gets an allowance, they are almost always at a disadvantage compared to the ROW boat. If you don't want to get stuffed having to run dead downwind to the mark then don't arrive above the rhumb line. In the diagram green should have sailed on a it further so they could gybe, reach to the mark and then gybe again at the mark. Of course green may well claim that's what they did... |
||
![]() |
||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
( my point being that the definition of mark room includes the bit about no farther: this means going no further PAST the mark than you need to. If gybing, once AT the mark you can't sail further, and of course you can't leave the three boat zone to gybe.)
|
||
![]() |
||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Not quite: they would be on port rounding coming in on opposite tacks. The "restriction" is what Gordon is pointing out and I am poking at a get-out-of-jail-free-card for assy' or hot angles. Once you acquire rights you should sail to the mark and no further than your proper course.. In fact the card is there in the opposite tacks case on a port rounding: 18.4: on gybing she "shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course" : I would claim that an assymetric boat needs to sail a hot angle in light winds. whatdyyathink gordie? M'lawd the plaintiff rests. |
||
![]() |
||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
In the diagram:
- initially Green was clear ahead and Red was required to keep clear. Green could sail any course (subject to the limitations of rule 16) - when Green gybes on to port the becomes the keep clear boat, but is entitled to mark room. - Green does not sail directly to the mark and if Red was obliged to take action to avoid Green then Green broke rule 10 and should take a penalty. - when Green gybes back, if she is still clear ahead Red must keep clear; If Green is overlapped to windward she is entitled to mark room to sail to the mark. Gordon |
||
Gordon
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Do you mean an exact mirror image with the mark rounding the other way or what?
Generally speaking if you are ROW boat you can sail where you like although there are exceptions and limitations. Edited by JimC |
||
![]() |
||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
This is almost the situation I meant: But if green was on STB and red was on port, green overlapped b4 the 3 zone, then can green "sail" by filling her Assymetric and not drifting to the mark in light winds? Ie sail the kind of angles in the diagram, just initially ongreen boat STB-Port red ? |
||
![]() |
||
asterix ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Thanks Jim I (as red) was forced to gybe and actually in doing so hit green albeit only gently (no damage). It was not a major issue but I was left feeling that I was hard done by (excepting the collision) |
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Well, no doubts under 18.2 that green is entitled to Mark room... So we go to the definition...
All the way through green is entitled to mark room by that definition. Whilst green was clear ahead she was right of way boat: R12 I reckon when green gybed onto port an overlap was created, and she ceased to become right of way boat and was required to keep clear of red (R16) but red wasn't required to give green room, (R15) since it was green's actions that gave red ROW. So once the boats were on opposite gybes red was ROW, and thus green was only entitled to room to sail to the mark. She's not yet at the mark - indeed sailing away from it - so I reckon proper course doesn't apply. Thus until red gybes I think green is sailing higher than entitled to. Once red gybes green becomes ROW again. What it would come down to, I suspect was whether the PC found that red could have given green mark room without gybing if green hadn't sailed so high when they were not ROW, but I'm no rules guru. |
||
![]() |
||
asterix ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
So, in the example below (which happened to me on the water - I was the red boat) (with the wind coming up the page) can the leading (green) boat who was clear ahead when it entered the zone legitimately sail high and then gybe so that the following (red) boat has to gybe away from the mark when the courses meet? Green could have sailed straight to the mark but chose not to so he could carry the genny further (it was light winds) and so as to make sure of rounding and coming out of the mark ahead of red.
Edited by asterix |
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Agreed... If you've come in high of the mark and have to run down and you stop whilst doing so then that's just tough. Life is tougher when you're on port tack... |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 34567 8> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |