Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Luffing |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | ||
rich96 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 20 Jan 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 596 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 5:01pm |
|
Can anyone clear up an issue for me ? Sailing in Lasers on broad reach, on port, towards the leeward mark that is to be left to port. Lead laser luffs to discourage chasing the laser from going above her and potentailly gaining an inside overlap at the next mark. Chasing laser then ducks to leeward and begins to luff lead Laser way above the leeward mark (so far the they both have to gybe back). Cgasing Laser gets ahead. Is it correct that if you gain the overlap from astern you cannot then sail above your proper course ? (which in a Laser would be straight towards the next mark ?).
|
||
![]() |
||
laser4000 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Aug 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 589 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -
"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat." |
||
![]() |
||
iansmithofotley ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Location: Otley, West Yorkshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 209 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Hi everyone, I think that this rule is easy to understand and interpret with regards to fleet racing, but I find it ambiguous in handicap racing. In a handicap race, where a una rigged boat (e.g. a Laser) is, for example, sailing on a dead run, on the rhum line from the previous mark, to the leeward mark, there can be problems with an assymetric boat (e.g. an RS 200) which starts to luff from a recently acquired overlap, from astern, and within the two boat lengths. In this situation the assymetric crew will (rightly) state that they are sailing their 'proper course' as they intend to gybe downwind. The wording of the rule does not take any account of the fact that both boats may be sailing their 'proper course' but the 'proper course' might be different for the boats concerned. I suppose that the rules were not designed for differently rigged boats. Personally, as I sail a una rigged boat, I try to anticipate this situation and try to keep out of trouble beforehand, but it is often difficult when there are several assymetric boats, often of different classes and sailing at different speeds, luffing, albeit sailing their 'proper course'. It is very easy to be taken somewhere where you don't really want to go. Do other people have a problem with this rule in handicap racing or is it just me? Ian (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)
|
||
![]() |
||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Ian,
yes they do.
R11 - Windward gives way. If there is a dissagreement as to what the LEEWARD boat's proper course is, then a protest should be held. Windward still gives way and then protests.
Remember that the leeward boat has to justify the course as the course they would sail. |
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
The rules do anticipate that - there are a number of examples in the case book. Its best to read through th case book alongside the rules if you want to get a good understanding, and IMHO the case book is essential for any protest committee. |
||
![]() |
||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Jim, Case 14 covers this exactly.
|
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
The rules are very clear
Rule 17 is a limitation on the course that the leeward right of way boat may steer. The leeward boat is not allowed to sail above HER proper course. If leeward boat is an assymetric and to windward is a boat that sails deeper then leeward boat may luff up to HER proper course, which may be well above windward boat's proper course. Gordon |
||
Gordon
|
||
![]() |
||
iansmithofotley ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Location: Otley, West Yorkshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 209 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Hi everyone, Thank you for your replies, the interpretation of the rules is as I thought it was and I am aware of the casebook. It's not so bad if the una rigged boat can gybe onto starboard tack when the assymetrics are on port tack but when the una rigged boat is on starboard tack, as well as the assymetrics, without anticipation and forward planning, often there is not much that the una rigged boat can do to prevent being sailed away from her original 'proper course' and often a long way from it. The situation is even worse in a 'crowded' handicap fleet. Rightly or wrongly, my confusion was/is that in handicap racing, in the situation that I have previously described, it does not seem to be a 'fair' rule for all participating boats in this situation, but 'rules are rules' and we should all try our best to sail to them even if sometimes they do not appear to be fair. Thanks again. Ian (Yorkshire Dales S.C.) |
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
||
![]() |
||
Andymac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Apr 07 Location: Derbyshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 852 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
And unstayed una rigs running by the lee on starboard. As you rightly say Jim, what comes around goes around. The 'situations' should even themselves out. The alternative is to fleet race |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |