New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Luffing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Luffing

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
rich96 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 20 Jan 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 596
Post Options Post Options   Quote rich96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Luffing
    Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 5:01pm

Can anyone clear up an issue for me ?

Sailing in Lasers on broad reach, on port, towards the leeward mark that is to be left to port.

Lead laser luffs to discourage chasing the laser from going above her and potentailly gaining an inside overlap at the next mark.

Chasing laser then ducks to leeward and begins to luff lead Laser way above the leeward mark (so far the they both have to gybe back). Cgasing Laser gets ahead.

Is it correct that if you gain the overlap from astern you cannot then sail above your proper course ? (which in a Laser would be straight towards the next mark ?).

 

 

Back to Top
laser4000 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Aug 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 589
Post Options Post Options   Quote laser4000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 6:53pm
If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



Back to Top
iansmithofotley View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Otley, West Yorkshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Post Options Post Options   Quote iansmithofotley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 10:35pm

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



Hi everyone,

I think that this rule is easy to understand and interpret with regards to fleet racing, but I find it ambiguous in handicap racing.

In a handicap race,  where a una rigged boat (e.g. a Laser) is, for example, sailing on a dead run, on the rhum line from the previous mark, to the leeward mark, there can be problems with an assymetric boat (e.g. an RS 200) which starts to luff from a recently acquired overlap, from astern, and within the two boat lengths.  In this situation the assymetric crew will (rightly) state that they are sailing their 'proper course' as they intend to gybe downwind. 

The wording of the rule does not take any account of the fact that both boats may be sailing their 'proper course' but the 'proper course' might be different for the boats concerned. I suppose that the rules were not designed for differently rigged boats.

Personally, as I sail a una rigged boat, I try to anticipate this situation and try to keep out of trouble beforehand, but it is often difficult when there are several assymetric boats, often of different classes and sailing at different speeds, luffing, albeit sailing their 'proper course'. 

It is very easy to be taken somewhere where you don't really want to go. Do other people have a problem with this rule in handicap racing or is it just me?

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 

Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:13pm
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



Hi everyone,

I think that this rule is easy to understand and interpret with regards to fleet racing, but I find it ambiguous in handicap racing.

In a handicap race,  where a una rigged boat (e.g. a Laser) is, for example, sailing on a dead run, on the rhum line from the previous mark, to the leeward mark, there can be problems with an assymetric boat (e.g. an RS 200) which starts to luff from a recently acquired overlap, from astern, and within the two boat lengths.  In this situation the assymetric crew will (rightly) state that they are sailing their 'proper course' as they intend to gybe downwind. 

The wording of the rule does not take any account of the fact that both boats may be sailing their 'proper course' but the 'proper course' might be different for the boats concerned. I suppose that the rules were not designed for differently rigged boats.

Personally, as I sail a una rigged boat, I try to anticipate this situation and try to keep out of trouble beforehand, but it is often difficult when there are several assymetric boats, often of different classes and sailing at different speeds, luffing, albeit sailing their 'proper course'. 

It is very easy to be taken somewhere where you don't really want to go. Do other people have a problem with this rule in handicap racing or is it just me?

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 

 

Ian,

 

yes they do.

 

R11 - Windward gives way.

If there is a dissagreement as to what the LEEWARD boat's proper course is, then a protest should be held.  Windward still gives way and then protests. 

 

Remember that the leeward boat has to justify the course as the course they would sail.

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:14pm
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

The wording of the rule does not take any account of the fact that both boats may be sailing their 'proper course' but the 'proper course' might be different for the boats concerned.

The rules do anticipate that - there are a number of examples in the case book. Its best to read through th case book alongside the rules if you want to get a good understanding, and IMHO the case book is essential for any protest committee.
Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:20pm
Jim, Case 14 covers this exactly.
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:30pm
The rules are very clear

Rule 17 is a limitation on the course that the leeward right of way boat may steer. The leeward boat is not allowed to sail above HER proper course. If leeward boat is an assymetric and to windward is a boat that sails deeper then leeward boat may luff up to HER proper course, which may be well above windward boat's proper course.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
iansmithofotley View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Otley, West Yorkshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Post Options Post Options   Quote iansmithofotley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:55pm

Hi everyone,

Thank you for your replies, the interpretation of the rules is as I thought it was and I am aware of the casebook. 

It's not so bad if the una rigged boat can gybe onto starboard tack when the assymetrics are on port tack but when the una rigged boat is on starboard tack, as well as the assymetrics, without anticipation and forward planning, often there is not much that the una rigged boat can do to prevent being sailed away from her original 'proper course' and often a long way from it. The situation is even worse in a 'crowded' handicap fleet.

Rightly or wrongly, my confusion was/is that in handicap racing, in the situation that I have previously described, it does not seem to be a 'fair' rule for all participating boats in this situation, but 'rules are rules' and we should all try our best to sail to them even if sometimes they do not appear to be fair.

Thanks again.

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 12:17am
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

in the situation that I have previously described, it does not seem to be a 'fair' rule for all participating boats in this situation
Every boat has a downside in these situations... few things more irritating than some Laser or other Una rig boat stuffing up high when you desperately need to free off and get some boat speed in your high performance boat. What comes around goes around!
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 3:22am

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by iansmithofotley

in the situation that I have previously described, it does not seem to be a 'fair' rule for all participating boats in this situation
Every boat has a downside in these situations... few things more irritating than some Laser or other Una rig boat stuffing up high when you desperately need to free off and get some boat speed in your high performance boat. What comes around goes around!

And unstayed una rigs running by the lee on starboard. As you rightly say Jim, what comes around goes around. The 'situations' should even themselves out. The alternative is to fleet race .

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy