New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Rounding windward mark in the wrong direction
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Rounding windward mark in the wrong direction

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rounding windward mark in the wrong direction
    Posted: 16 Apr 12 at 8:50am
.
Originally posted by sargesail

A has to tack to round the mark so this is a port and starboard case.


I don't A did have to tack to round the OP state A bears off on to a reach.

Despite that as A significantly altered course and B could definitely be considered to be keeping clear and only did not keep clear as a result of the RoW boats actions A is at fault.

Gordon has explained it much better though  Wink
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 12 at 9:42pm
 When A was on starboard and  B on port  rule18 does not apply. Rule 10 does apply and port tack boat must keep clear. However, when A gybed she acquires right of way and must give B room to keep clear. If B's manoeuvre to keep clear was necessarily unsamanlike ( a crash tack for instance) A broke rule 15.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 12 at 5:11pm
Ditto Sargesail.
Boat A was never entitled to mark room, but was, then wasn't, then was again ROW boat.
After unwinding back and gybing onto Starboard, it became ROW boat again. Assuming that boat B didn't take avoiding action until boat A had established its right, then the fact that boat B managed to avoid contact (meeting its obligation) suggests that A gave B sufficient time to react to its change of course, so no rule was broken by either boat.
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 12 at 9:55am
A has to tack to round the mark so this is a port and starboard case.

All the usual limitations on altering course would apply - while there is no evidence here it is easy to imagine that A might have been altering course very quickly and therefore B may not have been able to keep clear - but there is no requirement for B to anticipate the gybe and harden up by A.
Back to Top
Chris415700 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 20 Oct 10
Location: East Midlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 62
Post Options Post Options   Quote Chris415700 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 12 at 8:27am
An incident from last week that caused much discussion afterwards, but no conclusion.
  1. Windward mark to be left to starboard.
  2. Dinghy A approaches the mark on the starboard layline.
  3. Dinghy B approaches the mark on the port layline.
  4. Dinghy A leaves the mark to port and bears off onto a reaching course.
  5. At the time dinghy A rounds the mark dinghy B is about 6 boat lenghts from the mark and still on the lay line.
  6. Dinghy A realises his mistake, tacks and sails back to the mark.
  7. When dinghy A gets to the mark he gybes round it to unwind and calls starboard on dinghy B who is about 1/2 a boat lenght from the mark.
  8. Dinghy B manages to avoid a collision, but is not sure whether dinghy A had any rights over dinghy B at the time he called starboard, claiming that he gave dinghy B plenty of mark room when he initilly arrived at the mark.
  9. It is unsure whether dinghy A sailed out of the zone after he rounded the mark in the wrong direction.


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy