New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Starboard boat capsizing onto port  boat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Starboard boat capsizing onto port boat

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Starboard boat capsizing onto port boat
    Posted: 20 Apr 11 at 1:27pm
Originally posted by A Seabadger

Isn't it a case of having "time and opportunity" to keep clear. As you didn't have either despite your best efforts you are not in the wrong.
In 30kts, 'keeping clear' might oblige the port boat to keep a safe distance from the stbd boat.
The stbd boat is not capsized until the masthead hits the water, but remains right of way the whole time.
You had time and opportunity to tack or bear earlier off to keep a sensible distance from the right of way boat.
There are very few excuses for collisions. One or both boats is always in the wrong.
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 10 at 12:19pm

Originally posted by jeffers

If a boat capsizes n you then I believe you will always be exonerated (unless they had been over for some time and you ploughed in to them).

Sorry, that's not always the case.

If you are the keep clear boat, it all depends on whether or not there was a change of course by the ROW boat (assuming the capsize wasn't deliberate). See above.

Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 10 at 12:13pm

Originally posted by A Seabadger

Isn't it a case of having "time and opportunity"

Only IF there was a change of course... if S (right of way boat) loses control (accidentally) and heels to leeward (or windward) WITHOUT changing course  [contact] then P (keep clear boat) 'unfortunately' has failed to give room.

If S changed course (quite possible) in the process of losing control, only then can P be exonerated and S has failed to give 'time and opportunity'. Just one of those things we all have to face when racing in close proximity in gusty 30 knots.

Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 10 at 10:55am
If a boat capsizes n you then I believe you will always be exonerated (unless they had been over for some time and you ploughed in to them).
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
A Seabadger View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 11 Oct 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 222
Post Options Post Options   Quote A Seabadger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 10 at 7:04am
Isn't it a case of having "time and opportunity" to keep clear. As you didn't have either despite your best efforts you are not in the wrong.
I don't suffer from insanity...I enjoy every moment of it.
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 10 at 4:47pm

Originally posted by Brass

From a strict rules point of view, it depends whether S did or did not change course.  If S changed course, and you did not have room to keep clear, then S broke rule 16, and you deserve to be exonerated for breaking rule 10.

Agree, if S changed course in the act of capsizing then P should be exonerated.

If however S capsized whilst maintaining its course (and it wasn't a deliberate act) then unfortunately P has failed to keep clear.

The extract below to a Q&A in RYA casenotes 1988/8 illustrates this point. Although it refers to a windward/Leeward and a heel to windward (ie in a lull),

rather than Port/Starboard and a heel (capsize) to leeward in a gust. I believe the same principle applies;

QUESTION 1

Two boats are close-hauled on the same tack. L, without

altering course, heels to windward so that her masthead

touches W’s mast or sail. Is it fair sailing?

ANSWER 1

If carried out deliberately and with the intention of

making W break a rule, it would break rule 2, and W

will be exonerated for breaking rule 11 under 64.1(c),

provided that she was previously keeping clear, as

defined. But if the contact is caused by, for instance,

wave motion or a wind shadow, L breaks no rule, and

W has not kept clear.

EDIT;

footnote; S was in the act of 'heeling to leeward' when 'masts clashed' (contact) and at that moment in time wasn't actually capsized. S could argue that the mast contact prevented recovery from the heel to leeward and resulted in the capsize.



Edited by Andymac
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 10 at 9:42am

found this on a RYA pdf.

"Rule 16 applies to a right-of-way boat that alters course out of control. When a boat has capsized near another,obligations under the rules of Section A of Part 2 end,and are replaced with an obligation to avoid thecapsized boat, if possible. A boat is not to be penalized when she is unable to avoid a capsized boat."

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 10 at 1:30am
Originally posted by laserblue

I was beating in a Laser on port  in a gusting 30mph wind and was not sure I could cross a port boat . I bore off to go behind him. Had he sailed normally I would have safetly cleared his transom but instead he was caught by a gust and started to capsize. His mast started to fall in front of my boat. I immediatedly bore off even more but could not avoid the masts clashing.

Was I in the wrong being on port or is it covered by the not altering course rule  16.2 ?

I agree with Al.  Morally you did all you could and do not deserve to be penalised.

From a strict rules point of view, it depends whether S did or did not change course.  If S changed course, and you did not have room to keep clear, then S broke rule 16, and you deserve to be exonerated for breaking rule 10.

I have difficulty visualising how, with P dipping S, S could have capsized so as to contact P without changing course.

There was contact.  Rule 14 comes into play.  If S tipped into you so fast that you could not avoid her, then it was not reasonably possible for you to avoid contact.  Just possibly you could win a protest under rule 14 saying that it was possible for S to avoid contact with you by maintaining control, however that would require injury or damage, otherwise S can not be penalised under rule 14(b).

Back to Top
laserblue View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 May 07
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote laserblue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 10 at 5:46pm

Opps!. Quite right I was on port and I could not cross ahead of the starboard boat.

 

Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 10 at 4:37pm
Take it the first line (because you've typed port twice!) that the other boat was on starboard? I think by bearing off enough to pass his transom you've done all you can- you cannot predict a boat capsizing, and should not have to anticipate the other boat doing something stupid/unfortunate.
-_
Al
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy