New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Luffing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Luffing

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Luffing
    Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 4:37pm
Rule 17 only puts a limitation on the right of the leeward boat to sail ABOVE her proper course, nothing prevents her sailing below this course. So a boat may sail low (possibly on a wave) establish an overlap and then luff up to, but not above her proper course.

If a boat changes course to get onto or stay on a wave then this would be considered a proper course. Planing or surfing conditions wouod have to exist at the time of the incident.

Gordon


Gordon
Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 4:06pm

No one has mentioned waves as a reason for snaking all over the place, whether there is a boat to windward or not.

 

Garry

Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 4:05pm
Originally posted by rich96

Chasing laser then ducks to leeward and begins to luff lead Laser way above the leeward mark (so far the they both have to gybe back). Cgasing Laser gets ahead.

Explain to me how, in a Laser, this could be considered proper course on a leg that is described by the OP as a broad reach....

If I, as a protest cimmittee member, am not satisfied of the explanation of LW as to these actions I would almost certainly DSQ them.

I appreciate this is difficult to picture without the use of diagrams and a protest kit but taking the OP description of events I still maintain the LW did not sail their proper course.

Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 2:30pm

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by jeffers

Even so diving off low and then luffing back high above the mark would diffult to prove as proper course for any boat

If he dived so low that the overlap counted as established from leeward, not astern then L would be allowed to luff. Its all in the fine detail!

Yep, the Diving low is a tactical move; returning to proper course afterwards.  You do not, as far as I am aware, have to sail proper course to GAIN the overlap......

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 2:28pm
Originally posted by jeffers

Even so diving off low and then luffing back high above the mark would diffult to prove as proper course for any boat

If he dived so low that the overlap counted as established from leeward, not astern then L would be allowed to luff. Its all in the fine detail!
Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 2:22pm
Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by Scooby_simon

Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



This is the relevant answer for the OP's question. They were both in Laser's so the other infor about different classes having different proper courses etc.. whilst interesting is irrelevant in this case.

I would have protested the chasing Laser or if it was just a club race had a chat after the race (calling protest in the race in case their reaction was negative to the chat).

 

It IS still relevant as the leeward boat STILL dictates proper course; if you do not think the leeward boat can JUSTIFY their course as proper course, then protest / have a chat.

Just because you think their course is not proper course, does not mean the PC will agree with YOU.

I think even the most hard line of PC's would have a hard time find in favour of LW in this case. As both boats were of the same class. Even so diving off low and then luffing back high above the mark would diffult to prove as proper course for any boat (remember proper course is in the absence of other boats).

I cannot think of a single instance when I have wanted to go way above a mark when there have not been any other boats round me.

I can come up with a couple very quickly

 

1, LW boat has much heavier crew and thus to plane, needs to go higher.
2, LW (Cat in this case) Spi halyard in jammed and so cannot fly kite, still wishing to "go wild" (fly a hull) down wind and so needs to go higher than WW as they have the kite up
3, Slow cat such as the Dart 15; sometimes it pays to dead-run, sometime to reach off a LITTLE.  Again, Skipper of leeward boat decides what proper course is.

Essentially, even if you think LW is talking crap, you still have to give way and then protest.  Back to case 11.

 

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 2:14pm
Originally posted by Scooby_simon

Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



This is the relevant answer for the OP's question. They were both in Laser's so the other infor about different classes having different proper courses etc.. whilst interesting is irrelevant in this case.

I would have protested the chasing Laser or if it was just a club race had a chat after the race (calling protest in the race in case their reaction was negative to the chat).

 

It IS still relevant as the leeward boat STILL dictates proper course; if you do not think the leeward boat can JUSTIFY their course as proper course, then protest / have a chat.

Just because you think their course is not proper course, does not mean the PC will agree with YOU.

I think even the most hard line of PC's would have a hard time finding in favour of LW in this case as both boats were of the same class. Even so diving off low and then luffing back high above the mark would diffult to prove as proper course for any boat (remember proper course is in the absence of other boats).

I cannot think of a single instance when I have wanted to go way above a mark when there have not been any other boats round me.

Were I on a PC presiding over a case like this I would ask LW what his course would have been has the other boat not been present.



Edited by jeffers
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 9:53am
Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



This is the relevant answer for the OP's question. They were both in Laser's so the other infor about different classes having different proper courses etc.. whilst interesting is irrelevant in this case.

I would have protested the chasing Laser or if it was just a club race had a chat after the race (calling protest in the race in case their reaction was negative to the chat).

 

It IS still relevant as the leeward boat STILL dictates proper course; if you do not think the leeward boat can JUSTIFY their course as proper course, then protest / have a chat.

Just because you think their course is not proper course, does not mean the PC will agree with YOU.

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 9:13am

Originally posted by laser4000

If you gain overlap from astern then under rule 17 you can't sail above your proper course. The windward boat is still obliged under rule 11 to keep clear of you. The relevant bit is: -

"If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped
within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat."



This is the relevant answer for the OP's question. They were both in Laser's so the other infor about different classes having different proper courses etc.. whilst interesting is irrelevant in this case.

I would have protested the chasing Laser or if it was just a club race had a chat after the race (calling protest in the race in case their reaction was negative to the chat).



Edited by jeffers
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 09 at 3:22am

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by iansmithofotley

in the situation that I have previously described, it does not seem to be a 'fair' rule for all participating boats in this situation
Every boat has a downside in these situations... few things more irritating than some Laser or other Una rig boat stuffing up high when you desperately need to free off and get some boat speed in your high performance boat. What comes around goes around!

And unstayed una rigs running by the lee on starboard. As you rightly say Jim, what comes around goes around. The 'situations' should even themselves out. The alternative is to fleet race .

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy