Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Active RRS 2009-2012 thread |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | |
thedinghysailor ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 15 Oct 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 26 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 14 Apr 09 at 6:12pm |
Let's try another one. This is a new, maybe questionable move for team racing:
sailgroove.org... What do you think? Legal? |
|
![]() |
|
thedinghysailor ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 15 Oct 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 26 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
yeah, sorry. I always have trouble dropping links in correctly. I fixed it.
|
|
![]() |
|
Webmuppet ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 11 Mar 06 Location: Suffolk Online Status: Offline Posts: 534 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I am the milkman of human kindness, I will leave an extra pint (Billy Bragg)
Graduate 2530 'Galaxy' |
|
![]() |
|
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sorry the video requested could not be found |
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|
![]() |
|
thedinghysailor ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 15 Oct 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 26 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
ISAF has finally ruled on this! Check out the comment under the video with the official ruling.
Sailgroove.org... Edited by thedinghysailor |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The "loophole" is in rule 18.2(c) "However, if either boat passes head to wind or if the boat entitled to mark room leaves the zone, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply".
The incident seen on the video will be rare in fleet racing, simple because the leading boat will not often wish to delay their mark rounding in order to hold up the boat clear astern or overlapped. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
ColPrice2002 ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 25 Nov 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 222 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Quote:- "Thats going to be carnage at big handicap events isnt it??" I think that the loophole applies for team racing - which has a special Appendix. The rules for "normal" racing are different. Hopefully we won't have the problem of a team race using the same marks at the same time a normal racing - that would be a nightmare because the rules would be different.... Colin |
|
![]() |
|
Merlinboy ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Jul 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3169 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Thats going to be carnage at big handicap events isnt it??
|
|
![]() |
|
thedinghysailor ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 15 Oct 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 26 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I've got the first-ever instance of the rule coming into play! Shot on Jan. 4,
2009. The inside boat saw the original Sailgroove video. The outside boat did not... Check it out: http://www.sailgroove.org/videos/coverage/view_video/2343522 /110273 Edited by thedinghysailor |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Colin,
The team racing rules do not modify the relationship between 18.2 (b) and (c). Rule 18.2(b) when modified for team racing reads : < http-equiv="Content-" content="text/; charset=utf-8">< name="ProgId" content="Word.">< name="Generator" content="M**rosoft Word 10">< name="Originator" content="M**rosoft Word 10"> (b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, or she later becomes clear ahead when another boat passes head to wind, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her markroom. There is nothing in this to indicate that rule 18.2(c) does not apply. So as soon as one boat passes head to wind the original 18.2(b) restriction ceases to apply. However, if the boats are not overlapped as one boat passes head to wind, then a new 18.2(b) restriction applies to the boat clear astern. This means, in the situation under discussion, that the boat that benefitted from protection under 18.2(b) looses that protection and that the boat that passes head to wind acquires protection. What intrigues me the most is whether the game change induced by this re-write of rule 18 was intentional, or whether our eminent rule writers just forgot about they way team racing can torture the rules almost to breaking point. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |