New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: water on anchor lines
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

water on anchor lines

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
mike ellis View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2339
Post Options Post Options   Quote mike ellis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: water on anchor lines
    Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 2:43pm
thanks stefan, part of the discussion we were having before the race was whether you could have water after you had crossed the line or after you had got clear of the comittee boat, from that you have to get clear of everything before you can have water on the anchor line.
600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318
Back to Top
Hector View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 10 May 04
Location: Otley, Yorkshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 750
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hector Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 12:25pm

I'm sure the Anchor line / rope itself didn't use to be part of the mark. It certainly shouldn't be - Especially on reservoirs where when the water level drops, you occasionally have a mooring rope just submerged a few metres away from the actual mark and you can't even see it

Maybe it was just the underwater part that's not part of the mark - anyone sure on the current situation?

 



Edited by Hector
Back to Top
FireballNeil View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 03 Oct 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 654
Post Options Post Options   Quote FireballNeil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 10:31am
I didnt think of current taking you back to it, its not usually a problem on the lake
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 6:46am

Originally posted by FireballNeil

If it is a start mark then no room has to be given

Yes, because:

18 ROUNDING AND PASSING MARKS AND OBSTRUCTIONS

In rule 18, room is room for an inside boat to round or pass between an outside boat and a mark or obstruction, including room to tack or gybe when either is a normal part of the manoeuvre.

18.1 When This Rule Applies

Rule 18 applies when boats are about to round or pass a mark they are required to leave on the same side, or an obstruction on the same side, until they have passed it.  However, it does not apply

(a) at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or at its anchor line from the time the boats are approaching them to start until they have passed them,

That's clear enough. You can't claim water until you have passed the committee boat, including its anchor. However if you were starting in light airs and foul current, passed the boat and then drifted backwards again, at that point the anchor chain might be an obstruction.

 

 

 



Edited by Stefan Lloyd
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 6:37am

Originally posted by Noah

 what's the penalty for hitting either end of the finish line (boat, anchor warp, or pin end buoy)?.

It's all in the rules.

31 TOUCHING A MARK

31.1 While racing, a boat shall not touch a starting mark before starting, a mark that begins, bounds or ends the leg of the course on which she is sailing, or a finishing mark after finishing.

31.2 A boat that has broken rule 31.1 may, after getting well clear of other boats as soon as possible, take a penalty by promptly making one turn including one tack and one gybe. When a boat takes the penalty after touching a finishing mark, she shall sail completely to the course side of the line before finishing. However, if a boat has gained a significant advantage in the race or series by touching the mark her penalty shall be to retire.

So you need to return to the course side, do your 360 and then finish. 

Back to Top
FireballNeil View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 03 Oct 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 654
Post Options Post Options   Quote FireballNeil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 07 at 10:57pm
If it is a start mark then no room has to be given
Back to Top
Calum_Reid View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Post Options Post Options   Quote Calum_Reid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 07 at 12:21pm
you become unfinished, must complete your turns and then correctly cross the finish line from the direction of the last mark of the course.
Back to Top
Noah View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 29 Dec 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 611
Post Options Post Options   Quote Noah Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 07 at 12:17pm

Mike,

My understanding is that the anchor / mooring lines form part of the 'mark of the course', and as such are treated the same way as the comittee boat itself.

There may be peeps out there who have another view.

To take the thread in a slightly different direction,  what's the penalty for hitting either end of the finish line (boat, anchor warp, or pin end buoy)? A 360 turn seems pointless if you've already finished... I'm off to the RYA site for a look-see.

Back to Top
mike ellis View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2339
Post Options Post Options   Quote mike ellis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 07 at 11:16am

can someone please clarify for me when or if you have water on a comittee boats anchor chain immediately after the start, this arose after my dad was comittee boat on sat and he did something strange with the anchor which resulted in the chain being just to windward of the line. i wasnt caught up in any incidents, we started in clear air and out the way. im just wondering what i could have done.

i tried to look it up in the rule book last night but my copy seems to have temporarily gone walk about.



Edited by mike ellis
600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy