Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
downwind ROW boat obstruction rules |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | |||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 05 Aug 22 at 12:56pm |
||||
That looks a bit scrambled. See Jim's discussion above. Something is an obstruction if it complies with the definition,which refers to a boat being hypothetically one boat length from it. Whether it actually 'obstructs' a boat or not. |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Thanks for that. Certainly helped me understand the wording in definitions as I was getting confused as to where the 1 hull length came in. I now understand its only an obstruction if you were to pass it within a hull length and not entitled to keep a hull length from it.
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
'Cos I copied it from the email version that I got, to get rid of the horrible coloured text <g>.
That's what your animated diagram showed. The answer is: G did not change course or take any other avoiding action. There was no contact. See Case 50. B and Y did not fail to keep clear. No rule was broken. But less than 1 BL, means, to me, nearly one boat length, which is a lot more than a whisker. If, on the other hand, G had changed course and protested, then Y and/or B would have broken rule 10.
Was it a seamanlike hair? B is going to need to come into a protest hearing and prove that she was given less than some specific amount of space, which she needs to convince the protest committee was less than prudent seamanship required. |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
I had changed infringed to break within a few minutes of posting the original, unsure how you managed to quote the pre-edit
Thanks for the answers they are exactly what I was after. New question: are any rules broken if yellow holds its course and green misses blue by a hair (less than a hull length) without having to change course? Same question again but blue and yellow are passing an anchored cruise liner which blue misses by a hair Edited by ClubRacer - 05 Aug 22 at 10:22am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Grumpycat ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 29 Sep 20 Online Status: Offline Posts: 497 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Actually it depends if you believe in facts or unicorns .
![]() And I am not saying which side is which. Best to leave that can of worms un opened
![]() |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Depends who you ask... |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Yes.
Yes, although, I think if Y gybes, she's going to end up parallel and overlapped to windward of G, with B in the gas, possibly CASTN of Y. If B gets her nose into the gap and becomes overlapped on Y, to windward of her, then Y is now windward boat, required to keep clear of [G and] B, and required to give B room to pass between Y and G.
As long as G is on stbd and B and Y are on port, G is the right of way baot an an obstruction to B and Y. Whether a Y is required to give B room depends on whether rule 19 applies at all. Rule 19 applies between boats 'at' an obstruction. I think 'at' means 'when an inside boat needs an outside boat to give her room to pass between her and the obstruction'. Whether boats are on a 'collision course' doesn't really matter, the issue is whether B needs Y to give her room to pass between Y and G. If B is on a 'collision course' with G and B needs space between Y and G to pass between them, then Y must give B that room.
Well, it sounds like you are describing the very thing that rule 19 is there to prevent: Y 'scraping' B off against the obstruction. When Y and B are 'at' G, the obstruction, Y is required to give B, room, that is the space she needs, acting promply and in a seamanlike way, to pass between Y and B. so the test is going to be, how much space was there between Y and G when Y gybed away. If Y's intention was as you describe, there probably won't be enough space, and Y will break rule 19. And boats don't 'infringe' rules. They 'break' them.
Well, that's going to depend on what the evidence proves about the actual amount of space, but Y is on very shaky ground. Edited by Brass - 05 Aug 22 at 12:32am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Is that because of Brexit? |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
This is the point. The green boat is an obstruction for both boats. The definition doesn't say "without changing course when she is sailing directly towards it". It says "IF she WERE". If we're racing in Hayling Bay France and the Isle of Wight are obstructions. Its just that no action is needed to give room at them. So 19.2b applies. But outside doesn't have to do anything to give inside room to pass France or the IOW.
Edited by JimC - 05 Aug 22 at 6:27am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
I would say that both Yellow and Blue are sailing directly towards it and are within a hull length of Green.
Hypothetically then if Green were to pass over a hull length back from Yellow if they both held their course and Blue and Yellow are overlapped and Green will hit Blue. Does Yellow still have to give room to Blue to pass in front if Yellow chooses to do so?
|
|||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |