Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Race rules... |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Author | |
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 15 Sep 19 at 10:45am |
True, but where and how is any boat in OP diagram unable to give mark-room?
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The diagram in Case 63 is a bit inconsistent with the text, which says A passed the mark about one hull length to leeward. Maybe B, owing mark-room to A, from the zone was content to take her gruel from A, but resented C nicking in.
|
|
![]() |
|
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I would say that R is about half a length inside the zone, but it's academic unless G had an overlap. The OP says "I'm coming up a couple of boat lengths behind" which implies he did not.
|
|
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
As I scale the diagram R is not quite in the zone and G is just over a boatlength clear astern of R, and a smidgen further from the zone.
R is overlapped outside all the black boats, who have reached the zone, and required to give them mark-room (rule 18.2b). G is clear astern of all the black boats and required to give them mark-room (rule 18.2b). Next instant, R will have reached the zone clear ahead of G and G will be required to give R mark-room (rule 18.2b). If there was any doubt about overlap, G, having previously been clear astern shall be presumed not to have become overlapped in time (rule 18.2d). G is quite at liberty to go into the gap and round close behind the inside boat, but she does so at her own risk. Rule Rule: 18.2" data-url="/rules/682?xformat=fleet" style="box-sizing: border-box; background-color: transparent; color: rgb(51, 122, 183);">18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room Rule Rule: 18.2" data-url="/rules/682?xformat=fleet" style="box-sizing: border-box; background-color: transparent; color: rgb(51, 122, 183);">18.2(c)(2), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room At a mark, when space is made available to a boat that is not entitled to it, she may, at her own risk, take advantage of the space. Sure R can back off and unhook herself from Black then try to stick it to G, but she'll have a long way to go to get to G, and shouters aren't usually that smart.
True enough.
Edited by Brass - 15 Sep 19 at 10:48am |
|
![]() |
|
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
We only have the OP's diagram to go from, in it red is clearly well inside the zone and green clearly has no overlap so has no right to mark room.
|
|
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
|
![]() |
|
ColPrice2002 ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 25 Nov 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 222 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Rule 18.2
"f. If a boat obtained an inside overlap from clear astern or by tacking to windward of the other boat and, from the time the overlap begins, the outside boat has been unable to give mark-room, she is not required to give it." There are limits to claiming mark room... Colin |
|
![]() |
|
deadrock ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 24 Jun 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 85 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
As bustinben points out, if 'red shouty' boat has lined up behind three or more other boats rounding the mark in turn, it is a logical and sound indication that it is outside the three-boats circle. Even if it was earlier inside the 3-boat circle, going outside the circle to make a tight and tidy rounding nullifies any claim to mark room.
If you are directly upwind of the mark, or even laterally one or two boat-lengths to starboard (assuming a port-hand rounding) you will be entitled to mark-room if your boat is overlapped by being forward of shouty-boat's transom as it (re)enters the three-boat circle. (See definition of Overlap in the RRS definitions: Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap: "One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment in normal position are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat’s hull and equipment in normal position. The other boat is clear ahead. They overlap when neither is clear astern." Being entitled to mark room is one thing; making it stick is another. The advantage of allowing red shouty boat to round first and then protesting is that you cannot be penalised (unless it could somehow be construed as intimidating behaviour?).
|
|
![]() |
|
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
But you can only claim mark room over boat #4 (red/shouty man?) if you have an overlap when he reaches the 3 length zone.
|
|
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
|
![]() |
|
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Be so much easier if we could spray paint 3 boat lengths on the water round each buoy.
|
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
deadrock ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 24 Jun 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 85 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
In the four-boats-in-a-line situation described above, one possible approach is to claim water on No. 4, let it go through in front if it refuses your call, then protest.
It used to be so much easier with the two-boat-length rule!
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |