Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Room for an obstruction - Sailing Downwind |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | ||
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 09 Jul 19 at 8:59pm |
|
Had this team racing in the Carmela Cup in first class 8s in the dock by excel. Wind straight down the dock. Luffed to the wall on port by leeward who then held me there. Our kites were up. Got a bit of a roll on in the disturbed sir off the wall. Couldn’t slow to go out the back (main on the centreline would have meant more roll as might getting the kite down. Too close to the wall to gybe (boom would have smashed into it). Asked for room - umpires greened when we protested. Their perception was that leeward was giving us enough room.....and they may have been right since there was oodles of water under the keel and the rig never hit the wall. Lots of discussion that the only guaranteed way out is to get to close hauled early!
|
||
![]() |
||
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
this is what tends to happen... with the yellow boat winging the goose then going in to some super sketchy low speed gybe.
![]() |
||
![]() |
||
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Because you don't need to gybe and sail away from the bank at 45 degrees to avoid it. You can bear away and sail parallel to it. It's just slow.
It is a little dangerous though, as down-speed gybes within a boat length of an obstruction are a bit sketch to say the least. I guess that's why the AC and sail-gp allowed room to gybe for the obstructions (boundary)?
|
||
![]() |
||
Fatboi ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 09 Aug 16 Location: Hampshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 189 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Why not to gybe then? If the wind is such a direction that to avoid the bank you either have to gybe or god forbid, tack around, do you then have to tack?
![]() ![]() Edited by Fatboi - 09 Jul 19 at 2:35pm |
||
![]() |
||
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
There is room at an obstruction downwind. There's just not room to tack (or gybe).
|
||
![]() |
||
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
it can be difficult in an asymmetric when approaching a bank on starboard with a boat behind preventing the gybe away from the bank.
We had this exact situation at the endeavour last year about 60m after setting the kite at the windward mark in 25 knots! It ended with the lead boat pinned against the bank sailing low and slow until several boats inside had overtook and the gybe was clear. The boat that was ahead is then lucky to survive the low speed gybe themselves.
Fortunately it was wind against tide, with less tide against as you approached the bank so the boat ahead that got to the bank quickest often gained enough to just about gybe on to port and clear ahead of the following starboard boats. |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
'Room' is always qualified as room to do something, for example, under rules 15 and 16, room to keep clear, under rule 19 room to pass between an outside boat and an obstruction and under rule 20 room to tack and avoid.
So room under rule 19 is different from room to tack and avoid under rule 20. Edited by Brass - 17 Aug 19 at 2:27pm |
||
![]() |
||
Fatboi ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 09 Aug 16 Location: Hampshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 189 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Interesting... and what do you think about the room situation downwind following on from the IJ claiming that you could not have room as you were not going upwind. Seamed very odd to me, not being able to ask for room downwind but I assumed they knew their stuff...
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
If the inside boat gets her overlap before the outside boat gets to the obstruction, 19.2c does not excuse the outside boat from giving room.
See this Appeal to explain the 'snapshot' or 'freezing' approach to applying rule 19.2c. Rule Rule: 19.2" data-url="/rules/676?xformat=fleet" style="box-sizing: border-box; background-color: transparent; color: rgb(51, 122, 183);">19.2, Giving Room at an Obstruction The test to determine whether a boat establishing an inside overlap at a continuing obstruction is entitled to room requires the position of the outside boat to be frozen, but the positions of other boats in the vicinity are not frozen and must be moved forward in their same relative positions. And in GBR, this 'when in doubt' interpretation An inside boat that reasonably believes that she is at an obstruction and acts accordingly is entitled to room from an outside boat. The inside boat is not required to endanger herself in order to claim her entitlement to room. If the outside boat disputes the inside boat’s entitlement to room, she must nevertheless give room, and then, if she wishes, protest. |
||
![]() |
||
Fatboi ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 09 Aug 16 Location: Hampshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 189 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I agree tn that situation, but if you a symmetrical boat running down the shore at Cowes week or something like that it can be a slow unfolding event with thousands of pounds damage resulting from a rock and you need to know what the situation is
|
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |