Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Port & Starboards |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Author | ||
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 06 Jun 19 at 8:24am |
|
I think leeward is intentional. Once the starboard boat has put it's bow down, then the port boat first has to cross in front before it can pass astern.
That also seems to be what most people thought about Giles' manoeuvre. The hungarian boat was never really sailing astern, and if he was intending to sail astern he had to pass in front of Giles before doing so. However, with the above rule there are a few seconds where he is sailing to leeward of Giles. And Giles keeps bearing off, forcing the Hungarian boat to immediately change course further. |
||
![]() |
||
ohFFsake ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 04 Sep 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 219 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I actually wonder whether the change from "astern" to "leeward" is intentional?
My logic here is that "sailing to pass" seems to lean in the favour of the port tack boat, in that you don't specifically have to be overlapped or even pointing behind the other boat's stern to be "sailing to pass astern". It could be argued that the simple act of beginning to bear away satisfies the test that you are now "sailing [with the clear intent] to pass astern", so is the distinction between "leeward" and "astern" actually relevant? I think the real difference here is the changing of the wording from "after the starting signal" to "on a beat to windward". So the significant change is to permit dial-ups on downwind legs in TR, in situations where 16.2 might otherwise prevent them. Also worth noting that in neither discipline does 16.2 apply until after the starting gun, so it would appear that aggressive dial downs are always fair game before the starting signal. |
||
![]() |
||
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
What do you think of this team racing rule?
"Rule 16.2 is changed to: In addition, on a beat to windward when a port-tack boat is keeping clear by sailing to pass to leeward of a starboard-tack boat, the starboard-tack boat shall not bear away if as a result the port-tack boat must change course immediately to continue keeping clear." Seems in this case the port boat only has to get their bow pointing clear to leeward, rather than astern. Astern becomes very difficult when the starboard dials down and the boats are then reaching toward each other. Thoughts? Edited by mozzy - 05 Jun 19 at 9:42pm |
||
![]() |
||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Thanks OFFS
![]() |
||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||
![]() |
||
ohFFsake ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 04 Sep 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 219 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
...which doesn't happen very often! ;-) |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
OFFS got there before me <g>
Not like you to miss a rule 15 <g> Edited by Brass - 05 Jun 19 at 2:10pm |
||
![]() |
||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Thanks Brass
![]() |
||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
See the bolded bit. I'll interpret that into 21st century rules-speak as 'you have reached your close hauled course'. Boats are now on same tack, with the other boat clear astern. Rule 12 requires the boat clear astern to keep clear. To answer the OP question 'where is the starboard tacker supposed to go ? ' Either to port or to starboard so as to keep clear. If there is insufficient space for her to do so in a seamanlike way, then the tacking boat has broken rule 15, did not initially give room to keep clear. Otherwise, she keeps clear and no rule broken.
Edited by Brass - 05 Jun 19 at 2:05pm |
||
![]() |
||
ohFFsake ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 04 Sep 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 219 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
As soon as P completes their tack clear ahead then S must now keep clear. (Rule 12) If S has to take action to avoid P before the tack is complete then P has broken a rule. (Rule 13)
Furthermore, even once they have become the right of way boat P must initially allow S room to keep clear. (Rule 15) |
||
![]() |
||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Yes. If S has to alter course to avoid contact P broke rule 13.
|
||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |