Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Start of race |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | ||
H2 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Jul 17 Online Status: Offline Posts: 750 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 23 May 19 at 3:38pm |
|
Very interesting and useful - thanks!
|
||
H2 #115 (sold)
H2 145 OK 2082 |
||
![]() |
||
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
For some context, the tide was going left to right. This is probably why black was waiting for a gap to show but because of the tide it never did. Then the wind was also in right shift which exacerbated the situation. I reckon we lost a length on the late trigger (@0-1sec), regardless of the boat to windward. I reckon we lost another boat length just from them being there on our wind (between 2-5 sec). Then I reckon we lost a third boat length by holding high (@5-6sec), but this was a conscious decision as we were in the right shift and I didn't want sail low closing my lane then have to tack out immediately on to header. Instead I lost a little distance forwards but held height and the lane by squeezing aggressively high. If the wind was average or left, then I think you'd be correct, better to get bow forward and over the line then tack out on the lifted tack before you feel the effects of the dirty lane. 1634 comes back from the right with 1391 and they've lost out to us & 337. 1391 passes clear behind us and continues over left with 337 who tacks back left. 1634 tacks on our leebow. So, I think pinching up high was the right call to preserve our lane, even at the expense of a boat length in that moment... 1634 then tacks and ducks us as we boldy march on well past the starboard layline with the tide still going strongly left to right! 337 leads and 1634 is second. Breeze fills in on the left downwind and 1391 is first to gybe in to it. We should have gybed on top of 1634 when they went. Anyway, by the leeward mark 1391 were leading, 1634 second, us third and 337 4th. Positions close up on the next beat and we squeeze past 1634 with a well judged lay in to the windward mark. Positions remain the same, except 1634's rudder falls off gybing in to the leeward mark and they retire. So, in summary, I regret not triggering soon enough, I regret going over the layline and I regret not being the first to gybe on the first run. But, I think coming up high to preserve the lane over getting bow forward was the right call as those who went out right early lost out. Twas good racing... and the HISC regatta is back on this weekend, forecast looks super again!
Edited by mozzy - 23 May 19 at 2:20pm |
||
![]() |
||
H2 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Jul 17 Online Status: Offline Posts: 750 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
@Mozzy - my initial thought when I looked at the video was that whilst you are in the right I was just looking at how much you lost to the rest of the fleet who was sailing away from both of you. Its easy from my office seat to say so but I wonder if a smaller luff without contact would have been better as it would have been enough to make black slow and freak out (he knew he was in the wrong!) and you would have lost out less to the rest of the fleet. If you were racing black for series position so you just wanted to be ahead of them overall in the race then I would have done the same but if I cared about my overall position in the fleet I might have been less aggressive on balance. I realise that is more a strategic POV rather than a rules one but wondered what you thought as well with hindsight?
|
||
H2 #115 (sold)
H2 145 OK 2082 |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
If it was possible for A, by a seamanlike action, which would include sheeting in and advancing, to keep clear of B, then A has room to keep clear and B does not break rule 16. But, depending on the exact relative positions of the boats and the conditions, it might be difficult for B to persuade a protest committee that it was indeed possible for A to accelerate enough to keep clear. Referring to a U Flag start, perhaps you were thinking that room included space to comply with the rules, namely rule 30.3 U Flag Rule. The definition of room only includes space to comply with a rule of Part 2 When Boats Meet and rule 31. Room does not include room to comply with rule 30.3 and a right of way boat changing course is quite at liberty to push a give-way boat across the starting line. As others have said, A doesn't have the option of not responding and taking a rule 44 penalty in preference to going over the line early. In Match Racing that would be a double penalty on A.
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
So you were a little late pulling the trigger, but you made it in time.
Yes, being close to the CV (or any other object) makes a difference. In clear water, a leeward boat luffing and failing to give room to a windward boat to keep clear will be all about the rate of turn. Once there is an object to windward constraining where the windward boat can go, failure to give room to keep clear arises from the leeward boat coming up and reducing the space between herself and the object to windward so that the windward boat cannot fit through it. This looks a bit like rule 19, but it's different: while rule 19 applies (when it applies) to a leeward boat changing course it also applies to a leeward boat sailing a straight course, rule 16 applies only to a boat changing course, and in particular applies at starting marks, and windward give way racing boats when rule 19 does not
Edited by Brass - 22 May 19 at 12:01am |
||
![]() |
||
Fatboi ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 09 Aug 16 Location: Hampshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 189 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I am sure the protest committee would also agree that he could have also let his sails out and stopped, which would have avoided a collision.
If you have your sails in and end up on top of a boat to leeward you are always going to struggle to claim you were in the right.
|
||
![]() |
||
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I think @2 seconds I'd headed up and we're both still clear behind the CV and B could have tacked out. But, with this thread in mind and it's not so clear cut, probably I was 1-2 seconds late on my trigger which makes it closer on whether I gave them time to react.
Black would have stood more chance of tacking out if they hadn't got their pole out 2 foot! We're good mates and even as he was sliding in he was apologising, then did turns. You rack up on the start line on starboard and below the lay for the committee... you think you have all the rights. But then you change course on the gun and that lays you open to 'room to keep clear' 15/16. Similar to a port taker claiming you headed up and they could no longer cross you at the gun. Had we not been next to the CV would it be different? If someone reached down on you like that mid line and you headed up you'd never lose protest. So is it that you need to only to give them room between yourself and them for them to keep clear, but also room between them and another object (in this case the CB)?
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Edited by Brass - 21 May 19 at 1:02pm |
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
RRS 44.1b
So if you try and dodge being over the line by breaking a rule you're going to score letters anyway. Edited by JimC - 17 May 19 at 10:04pm |
||
![]() |
||
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
In that same article I posted Mark mentions a situation where A + B are in the middle of the line with no boats around them. A is stationary and going sideways into B. He then goes on to say A should sheet sails in to prevent him slipping sideways into B even if that means A crosses the start line. Obviously if its a U flag situation A isn't going to do that and will probably opt for the penalty turns instead ruining the start for B |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |