Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Mark Rounding |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | ||
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 05 Jan 06 at 10:58am |
|
In that case I think JimC was correct (see above) and the Mirror had rights for room.
|
||
![]() |
||
redders ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 30 Dec 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Sorry Guys I have been away so my response is a bit late!!! The Mirror was coming to the mark on a reach on port tack. The mark she was about to round was the port end of the line. The Tasar was on port approaching the same mark on port about to start. The mark was therefore a mark of the course and one end of the start line. Hope this clarifies the situation, and yes it was not a very clever course to set ! |
||
![]() |
||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Yes the Tasar can call for the water IMO (might be difficult to get mind if the rest of the boats are racked up tight). Simple solution is to not set the course like this and put the last mark before going thru the line a little to leaward of the starting line (as we do at Grafham).
|
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
john.d.knight ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Jul 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 42 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I would agree with Jim C regarding the mirror being allowed to call water, but would the Taser be allowed to call for water for the mirror if there are other boats to leeward. The Taser would nolonger asking for water on the start mark, not allowed under 18.1(a), but now needs water to pass an obstruction, the mirror.
Edited by john.d.knight |
||
Pain is just weakness leaving the body.
|
||
![]() |
||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Redders needs to clarify the rounding. Is the mirror rounding in the opp. direction to the starting direction or not. I.e. if boats are both on Stbd (tasar starting) and mirror rounding the mark (AKA CTTE boat maybe) then I think that JimC is correct and the Tasar (or tasars) must give room to the mirror as per his reasoning. The windward most Tazar must give the mirror room as the mark is a mark of the course. If the boats are on opp tacks then it's Ports vs STBD w vs L - end of story
Now could get VERY interesting if another (Late)Taser spots what is going to happen and tried to follow the Mirror around and then tack away. |
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Possibly, but I was wondering whether 18.1b applied. Mirror is described as being about to round a mark to port, so presumably is on starboard, while the Tasar is on port. However the description isn't clear enough to be sure. That's why I asked for clarification but the OP seems to have gone away.
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Lets look at the rules. By askling for water Mirror wants rule 18 to apply. Does it?
OK, well 18.1a says when the boatS plural are approaching to start. Mirror is not approaching to start so I would say that rule 18 applies and therefore Mirror is entitled to room. |
||
![]() |
||
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Yes I gathered that much as well but I can't visualise the situation precisely from the description. |
||
![]() |
||
Isis ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Sep 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 2753 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Makes sense to me but im not sure of the answer Im pretty sure redders means that one end of the start line is also a mark of the course. Boat A is rounding that mark when racing. Boat B is cutting close to that mark in a starting situation, who has rights? Edited by Isis |
||
![]() |
||
Guest ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
If they were on the same lap the Mirror would have water. If they were both starting then the Taser would have right of way. In this case I don't know ... daft race officer - should have made the course bigger to make sure they got all classes off before the first starter lapped. Rick |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |