Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Overtaking Boat Relevancy ? |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Author | |||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 20 Sep 17 at 5:22pm |
||
That's what I do DD, t'was more of a 'would if I let them' than a description of what actually happens (most of the time anyway).
The fact that he was getting "as and as a Badger" (lovely expression BTW) probably contributed to his demise, if he'd stayed cool he would have been more likely to sail faster and get past...... Oh, and thanks Brass :)
Edited by Sam.Spoons - 20 Sep 17 at 5:23pm |
|||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
|||
![]() |
|||
Do Different ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Jan 12 Location: North Online Status: Offline Posts: 1312 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
BTW. It's all very well getting a red mist on and trying to use every right to it's fullest extent. Racing is not always about going as fast as possible, sometimes smarts work better. If instead of taking on a fight he was always going to struggle with L. Asy. had backed off a tiny bit (half a boat length) and come up behind and over me he may have done better.
And Sam being a Windward sym. of an asy. ain't so bad, height is always good and if it gets silly simply back off for a couple of seconds and dive down behind. Sorry those 400s are giving you grief, go on get wily leave them to it and let them sail miles if it makes 'em feels good. edit for some typos. ![]() Edited by Do Different - 20 Sep 17 at 5:11pm |
|||
![]() |
|||
Do Different ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Jan 12 Location: North Online Status: Offline Posts: 1312 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Because boats were very closely matched for speed and he simply didn't have the legs to pull it off.
Peter Milne Javelin vs Phil Morrison Laser 4000.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Do Different ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Jan 12 Location: North Online Status: Offline Posts: 1312 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Right oh, on mobile so forgive any typos.
Keelboats? Nah no way, dinghies. Both trapeze boats reaching to a distant gybe mark on a traditional triangle course. I accept that Asy. had luffing rights but the thing which was making him as mad as badger was that he couldn't get close enough through my dirty air to exercise them. Hence my assertion that even though he had ROW he was the one in the bad place and I was under no obligation to bail him out. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Edited by Brass - 20 Sep 17 at 3:45pm |
|||
![]() |
|||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
It was a windward mark so most likely a bear away (no mention of a tack or gybe) in which case W/L won't change. Even if the overlap was broken and re-established L can still sail his proper course which for an assy will often/usually be higher than a sim kite boat. DD made a rounding into a windward position and should expect to have to keep clear of the inside/leward boat. That's my reading of the situation FWIW, if Brass or any of the rules experts are around maybe they can clarify?
Edited by Sam.Spoons - 20 Sep 17 at 1:25pm |
|||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
|||
![]() |
|||
Noah ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Dec 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 611 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
The way I read this, if L was originally inside (and therefore W), the overlap must have been broken on the exit from the mark. Therefore I assume the new overlap was established within 2 boat lengths to leeward and therefore L can't force W up? DD made a better mark rounding & hoist. Should he be penalised for that?
(NB. I don't know the rules in enough detail to quote numbers & don't have the time to go looking right now - sorry.)
|
|||
Nick
D-Zero 316 |
|||
![]() |
|||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
No, of course not, there is no right to clear air. But, you were keep clear boat and he was entitled to sail pretty much where he wanted and you must keep clear and not impede him. The way it panned out it may well have been you in the bad place as he could have sailed you halfway across the channel if he so desired. The problem with sims and assys racing the same course is that the assy's 'proper course' may well be much higher than the sim's. We get the same thing on our lake, if I end up to windward of a 400 on a deep reach in the Blaze he will simply sail me off the lake while he gets his apparent wind working.......
BTW, I'm guessing your are sailing keelboats not dinghies?
Edited by Sam.Spoons - 20 Sep 17 at 10:28am |
|||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
|||
![]() |
|||
Do Different ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Jan 12 Location: North Online Status: Offline Posts: 1312 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Interesting Sam. He had plenty of clear water, are you really saying I should have given him clear air as well?
Off to work now, look fwd to reading this eve.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Assuming a bear away onto a reach? I think, if you were windward boat, you were in the wrong and should have kept clear regardless of where he chose to sail. Rule 11. He did not gain an overlap from clear astern so R17 does not apply and even if it did his proper course with an assy kite is a broad reach or higher so he is entitled to sail you up as high as he needs to to get the assy working.
Edited by Sam.Spoons - 20 Sep 17 at 9:39am |
|||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |