Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
winward boat after leeward boat tack |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
laser161774 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Nov 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 6 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 08 Nov 15 at 11:23pm |
Thank you, I am now a wiser sailer !
Brilliant forum I'll be back !
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
![]() |
|
laser161774 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Nov 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 6 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Seems I got it all wrong
Glad I did my turns!!! Thanks for all your help
|
|
![]() |
|
laser161774 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Nov 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 6 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Thanks I think his overlap was created in the tack as I sailed past not sure if he was clear astern.
|
|
![]() |
|
Stevie_GTI ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 21 Oct 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 134 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
for me if the leeward boats overlap was created from clear astern then they cannot sail above their proper course (which I am assuming is a close hauled course the same as yours), so therefore is in no right to luff you. Rule 17
|
|
![]() |
|
laser161774 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Nov 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 6 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
My boat was further forward.
|
|
![]() |
|
laser161774 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Nov 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 6 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Thanks for your reply, Doesn't a boat that gains right of way have to initially give the other boat room to keep clear? Rule 15. |
|
![]() |
|
Stevie_GTI ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 21 Oct 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 134 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
When he completed his tack what were the positions of the boats relatively fore and aft. You say little or no overlap, but do you mean him on you, or you on him...which boat was further forward?
|
|
![]() |
|
iGRF ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 11 Location: Hythe Online Status: Offline Posts: 6499 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
No, sounds like you've been out manouvred by a good sailor.
1st he didn't want you tacking off for whatever reason. 2nd he used leebow affect by tacking under and cranking it up 3rd He got you to do turns perfectly legitimately in my book.. |
|
![]() |
|
laser161774 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Nov 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 6 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Can anyone help? My first post. Today I was on port tack and realised I was give way boat to a boat on starboard, I left it as late as possible to tack, I was ready to go when the STBD boat tacked onto port. So I didn't alter course. By the time he had completed his tack he was about one boat width below me(I'm being generous here), with little or no overlap( I'm not sure which). He then called me up. At this point I looked back to see his bow overlapped I tried to point higher but I was at the limit. His bow was so close I could not tack without making contact. I complained "I have no room to manoeuver " he replied "windward boat" His bow then made contact with my STBD side about 1' from the transom. My thoughts; (1) I did not need to anticipate his pointing higher than me. (2) He did not give me room to manoeuver (3)He created his overlap less than two boat lengths below me so had no luffing rights. (4) He may have been the overtaking boat so (see Point No (3) (5) He made no attempt to avoid contact. Guess what I did my turns to keep the peace. Should I be aggrieved ? |
|
timbo laser
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |